Search catalogs of other libraries. You can search specific libraries (academic or public) or national consortia of libraries such as Worldcat.
Databases and Indexes
Recommended
Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAnthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Annual Review of AnthropologyThis link opens in a new windowThe Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
AnthroSourceThis link opens in a new windowAnthroSource is the premier online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online including current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications through the end of 2006 (including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly) and an electronic archive of all AAA journals.
May not be used for commercial purposes.
Additional Databases
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
America: History and Life (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowA database focusing on the History of the U.S. and Canada. This database includes scholarly articles, book reviews and dissertations dealing with history in the Americas from pre-history to the present. Publication coverage is from 1964 to the present.
Art Full Text (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts periodicals in art, archaeology, architecture, design, photography, film, theatre, and television, animation, etc. Includes reviews of books, art exhibitions, films, and plays, and art reproductions in journals. Contains full-text coverage of periodicals from 1984 to the present. Formerly through Wilson.
ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAlternate title: American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database (EBSCO). A Religious Studies database. This database produced by the American Theological Library Association includes information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. References come from more than 600 journals and other sources and are in 35 languages. Includes several Mormon journals. Coverage is from 1949 to the present.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)This link opens in a new window1955+ Indexes and abstracts scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Linguistics/Language Behavior Abstracts -- LLBA (ProQuest)This link opens in a new window1973+ Indexes and abstracts articles from 2,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals in language use, linguistics, and related disciplines. Updated twice a year.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
ProQuest Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: Research Library (ProQuest). This multi-disciplinary database includes more than 4,050 titles - nearly 2,800 in full text - from 1971 forward.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI): Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 8,500 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, citedwork, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic.
