Skip to main content

Music: Paul Pollei Piano Collection

The Paul Pollei Piano Collection

About the Collection

The Paul Pollei Piano Collection is a collection of more than 6,000 music scores of piano music, including many foreign and scholarly editions. This collection significantly enriches the music for piano available in the Music and Dance section of the Harold B. Lee Library at Brigham Young University, and interfaces with other significant donations made by Paul Pollei in the past, including:

  • Approximately 5,000 LP sound recordings
  • An estimated 300 books
  • Thousands of piano pedagogical resources
  • Personal papers
  • Gina Bachauer Personal Papers
  • Gina Bachauer International Piano Foundation Papers

 

About Paul Pollei

International ambassador for piano music, Paul Pollei, a native of Salt Lake City, was Founder-Director of the Gina Bachauer International Piano Foundation which sponsors festivals and international competitions. The original festival-competition was his brainchild and because of his vision, work, specialized knowledge of competitions, and musical contacts throughout the world, the Bachauer Competition continues to enliven a love of music in Utah and people everywhere.

Following forty years of teaching, Paul Pollei recently retired from Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah, where he was coordinator of Graduate Keyboard Studies and a member of the piano faculty. He also served as founding music faculty member and then became advisor for the music faculty at the Waterford School in Sandy, Utah, and has served on the advisory boards of the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition and the United Nations International Education Board.

Dr. Pollei has been a jury member for many national and international competitions throughout the world and has served as a member of juries in Japan, China, Australia, throughout Europe, and in all states of the United States. He is founding member of the American Piano Quartet, devoted to research, performance, and re-publication of music for two pianos/eight hands. The quartet has performed in concerts worldwide and continues an active research, performing and recording career.

Dr. Pollei is the devoted teacher to many prizewinning students and is a frequent lecturer for teacher workshops and masterclasses in America and throughout the world. he often writes about the issues of piano pedagogy and piano training for professional journals in the United States. He is the author of Pedagogical Tips for Piano Teaching and Essential Technique for the Pianist: An Organized and Systematic Method of Teaching Piano Technique.

In addition to his administrative work with the Bachauer Foundation, Dr. Pollei is very active in the work of the National Conference on Piano Pedagogy, the Music Teachers National Association, and the World Federation of International Music Competitions.

 

Finding Paul Pollei Piano Collection materials

All Paul Pollei Piano Collection materials have been bound with a Royal Blue binding so as to be easily identifiable in the music stacks. Some examples are included below:

Additionally, the online Library Catalog has individual bibliographic records for each item in the Collection, and each record contains a special identifying tag "Paul Pollei Piano Collection". To search the catalog for items that are part of the Collection, put "Paul Pollei Piano Collection" between quotation marks and click on the "Search All" button (be sure to click "Search All"; if you do not click on the "Search All" button, no results will be returned). You may add additional keyword terms to your query using Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.) to find specific items. See the screenshot example below.