Subject Guides: Education: Lesson Planning Resources

Websites with Lesson Plans

Education World
Online resources for educators
Teach-nology
Free and easy to use resources to improve education including lesson plans and worksheets.
Discovery Education
Lesson Plans and other teaching resources from Discovery.
Utah K-12 Core Lesson Plans
K-12 Lesson Plans for the Utah State Core

Additional Resources

Adolescent Literacy
Resources for parents and educators for students grades 4-12
Edutopia
Research and practitioner based learning strategies for K-12 educators.
Best Websites for Teaching and Learning
Yearly lists of the Best Websites for Teaching and Learning produced by the American Association of School Librarians (AASL)
National Geographic Education
Teaching resources from National Geographic
Music Websites for Kids
Links to music websites for kids from the Music Teachers National Association
Smithsonian Education
Millions of resources and educational experiences. Requires a free account.

Websites with Content for Lessons

EDSITEment!
Humanities information on the web including lesson plans and student resources.
PBS Learning Media
High quality learning resources for PreK-12 education from the Public Broadcasting System.
Read Write Think
Access to practices and resources for language arts instruction
Teacher Tube
An educationally focused, safe venue for teachers and schools to share and view instructional videos.
Watch Know
Directory of over 20,000 educational videos
Library Of Congerss
Materials and professional development to encourage teachers to use primary sources in the classroom.
Digital Public Library of America
Primary source documents and materials in digital format from all over the United States.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting

Childrens and Young Adult Literature

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,400,000 MARC records and more than 280,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources.
TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. It is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
Something About the Author (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators. Biographical profiles include personal data, addresses, career, awards and honors, writings, sidelights (essay on the author's life and works), adaptations, additional sources and more. Also included are hundreds of specially commissioned autobiography essays.

Childrens and Young Adult Literature Websites

Childrens Book Council
National nonprofit trade association for childrens book publihsers
Center for Children's Books
Collection and information from Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Society of Childrens Book Authors and Illustrators
Association for children's book authors and illustators
Childrens Book and Media Review
A book, play and media review site created by the Harold B. Lee Library and the Department of Teacher Education
International Children's Digital Library
A library of digital children's books in a wide range of languages.
Get Epic!
Access to children's e-books, learning videos and quizzes. Free for verified educators and requires registration and log-in.

Curriculum Collection

Education Curriculum Collection:

This collection consists of elementary and secondary textbooks and curriculum materials from various publishers covering many subjects. This collection is designed to assist pre-service teachers in their preparations.

This collection is located in the The Social Sciences/Education Department on level one. Items from the Education Curriculum Collection can be checked out for a 7 day period.

Education Standards

You can access education standards in the following way:

Common Core State Standards Initiative:

Online at http://www.corestandards.org/

Utah State Core Standards:

Online at http://www.uen.org/core/

In Print: Elementary core curriculum standards : levels K-3 LB 1629 .U8 C67 1996; Elementary core curriculum standards : levels 4-6 LB 1561 .U8 E43 1996; etc.

National Core Arts Standards

Online at: http://www.nationalartsstandards.org/

Principals and Standards for School Mathematics:

Online at http://standards.nctm.org/

In Print: QA 13 .P735 2000 - Two copies in Social Science Reference and two circulating copies in HBLL Bookshelves

Older versions under series in the library catalog: Curriculum and evaluation standards for school mathematics addenda series. Grades …

Standards for the English Language Arts:

Online at: http://www.ncte.org/about/over/standards

In Print: LB 1576 .N274 1996