BioMed CentralThis link opens in a new windowBioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols (CSH)This link opens in a new windowCold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features,such as discussion forums and personal folders made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & PhysicsThis link opens in a new windowWeb access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Searchable by keyword, property, and compound. A number of the tables may be sorted and rearranged to create customized tables.
Encyclopedia of Life SciencesThis link opens in a new windowELS is a comprehensive encyclopedia of all subjects in the life sciences. Each article is written by experts in the discipline of the biological subjects. About 20% of the articles are updated each year.
Handbook of Proteolytic EnzymesThe Handbook of Proteolytic Enzymes (2nd Edition) is a resource which includes information on over 1000 peptidases, including Aspartic, Metallo, Cysteine, and Serine & Threonine Peptidases. It is organized by catalytic type, clan, family and peptidase, with links to the MEROPS database and three-dimentional structures for many of the enzymes. It also includes two appendices with "other organisms mentioned" (including viruses) and commercial suppliers.
LensThis link opens in a new windowUS, European and World wide collections searchable in full text of the entire specifications, with links to global patent families. Single inventions may have dozens, hundreds or even thousands of related patent documents in up to 80 different jurisdictions. See and explore these relationships.
Merck indexThis link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.
Springer ProtocolsThis link opens in a new windowSpringer Protocols is the largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.
SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new windowSpringer publishes millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
Databases of Clinical Information
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based, peer reviewed database of clinical information.
For educational use only.
Micromedex Healthcare SeriesThis link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive, clinical knowledge base that will prepare you for success in clinical practice.
Videos that demonstrate how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology
Professional and Graduate School Practice Test Information
Testing & Education Reference Center (Gale)This link opens in a new windowTERC contains over 100 practice tests and courses to help students prepare for educational tests including the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, MAT, NCLEX, and PRAXIS. Information about graduate schools and careers is also included.
Select Electronic Material
American Society of MicrobiologyThe home page for the American Society of Microbiology. Contains searchable archives and links to assist with microbiology research.
Topley and Wilson's Microbiology and Microbial InfectionsThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive reference to microorganisms and the resulting infectious diseases currently available. Forming a unique online resource that provides a handy reference for medical microbiologists, immunologists, infectious disease specialists, pathologists and public health scientists.
Provides extensive coverage of virology, bacteriology, medical mycology, parasitology and immunology. It includes information on epidemiology, identification, classification and emerging infections, all supported by the basic science that underlie infectious disease.
The content is topical with the current world issues on viral epidemics and biological warfare threats.
The Microbiology Information PortalA microbiology information portal containing a vast collection of resources including articles, news, frequently asked questions, and links pertaining to the field of microbiology.
CIDRAPAlternate title: Center for Infectious Disease Research & Policy (CIDRAP). CIDRAP is hosted at the University of Minnesota. This web site provides a wealth of information concerning bioterrorism agents and is updated daily. It includes news, clinical information, and references to articles.
HIV/AIDS ResourcesHIV & AIDS Web resources accessed through the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes links to AIDS-related online databases.
Journal Citation ReportsThis link opens in a new window2002-present. JCR presents quantifiable statistical citation data that provides a systematic, objective way to evaluate the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. Covers more than 7,000 of the world's most highly cited, peer-reviewed journals in approximately 200 disciplines. Includes Science Edition and Social Science Edition.
MEDLINE PlusThis website is created and maintained by the NLM (National Library of Medicine). The Health Topics option has a list of over 600 topics that provide a variety of types of information about the topic. The information is written by professional health experts. There are full text information, references, and links to additional websites on each topic. This information will provide excellent background information along with much specific information for the topics included. More topics are being added each month.
National Center for Biotechnology InformationLinks to Genbank database, tools for data mining including BLAST, COGS, MapViewer, LocusLink, UniGen, ORF finder, Electronic PCR, VAST search, CCAP, Human-Mouse Homology maps, VecScreen, and Cancer Genome Anatomy Project. Also provides access to Entrez: a retrieval system for searching several linked databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide sequence database, protein sequence database, structure, genome, population data sets, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man, taxonomy, 3D domains, ProbeSet, and online books.
National Library of MedicineThis link opens in a new windowPubMed provides Web access to resources of the National Library of Medicine, the world's largest biomedical library. Includes access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE, and molecular biology databases from the Entrez retrieval system.
Science.govScience.gov searches over 45 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
ToxnetThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to a system of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, toxic release lists and related areas.
UlrichswebThis link opens in a new windowUlrichsweb is the online version of Ulrich's Periodical Directory. It contains a quarter-million records (journals, newsletters, newspapers, etc.) that are published world-wide. Each record provides publishing information, price, state date, where it is indexed, email links, etc. Updated daily.
