RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management service that allows you to build bibliographies and manage citations. 

RefWorks Basics Tutorial

RefWorks Advanced Tutorial

How to Export References into RefWorks Quick Tutorial

EndNote X3 is a bibliographic management software package available for download through BYU's Office of Information Technology for all BYU faculty, staff, and graduate students. 

To download: OIT Software Distribution, then search for EndNote

EndNote Training

EndNote Web is the web-accessible version of the desktop EndNote program.  You can use it on its own or in coordination with the desktop version. 

EndNote Web Information

EndNote Training

Dictionaries

 Dictionary of Chemical Names and Synonyms; Howard, P.H.; Neal, M., Eds.; Lewis:  Boca Raton, FL, 1992.

SCI REF TP9.H65 1992; 1998 version is on CD-ROM

·         Give names and synonyms of chemicals, also MF and MW and some indication of structure

·         First part is numerical by CAS RN

·         If don’t know CAS RN, then there is a name and synonym index in part II which gives RN’s

·         Also provides trade names of these chemicals

 Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 5^th ed.; Buckingham, J., Ed.; Chapman and Hall: New York, 1982.

SCI REF QD 246.D5, also on CD

·         Online version at http://www.chemnetbase.com/scripts/ccdweb.exe

·         Contains 5 original columns and 10 supplement volumes along with several volumes of indexes

·         Provides chemical names and synonyms, CAS RNs, MF, MW, mp, structures diagrams, some safety data, importance or use, basic physical data, literature refs.

·         Compounds organized alphabetically by name

·         Locate a compound by going to Name Index, MF Index, or CAS RN Index

·         This is also available on DE-ROM from Science Reference Desk and searchable by structure, also available for inorganic compounds

 Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds, 1^st ed.; Macintyre, J. Ed.; Chapman and Hall: New York, 1992.

SCI REF QD 148 D53x

·         Online version at http://www.chemnetbase.com/scripts/ccdweb.exe

·         Contains 5 original volumes and 4 supplemental volumes

·         Provides chemical names and synonyms, basic identification information and physical properties, as well as structure diagrams, crystal structure, and synthesis with corresponding literature references

·         Locate a compound using the structural type, name CAS Registry Number, or element index

·         The element index is arranged in alphabetical order by primary element in the compound then by molecular formula in Hill System order, the supplemental volumes have separate indexes that are located at the end of the latest supplement volume

 Handbooks

 Aldrich Catalog Handbook of Fine Chemicals   SCI REF TP 202. A43x

·         Catalog organization, gives name, CAS RN, linear representation of structure, formula weight, MP, units and prices, BP, density

·         Gives references to other key sources such as Registry of Toxic Effects of Substances, Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR Spectra, Sigma-Aldrich Library of Chemical Safety Data, Merck Index, Beilstein

·         Arranged alphabetically by chemical name

·         MF index and CAS RN index

 Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra   SCI REF QC 457 .P86

·         Contains spectra diagrams of various compounds in 3 volumes (1997)

·         Grouped by class of compounds (i.e. Non-aromatic alcohols, Non-aromatic esters and lactones, Aromatic phosphorous compounds) and within the classes by increasing complexity

·         Use Empirical Formula Index at end of the volume to locate page number of a specific compound

 Aldrich ACD FTNMR Library   SCI REF QC 462.85 .A44 2001

·         Contains ¹H and ¹³C NMR spectra of 11,813 organic molecules

 TRC Spectral data books   SCI REF QC 463 H9  ff

·         Several volumes including IR, ¹H NMR, ¹³C NMR and UV spectra

·         Published by the Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas A&M University

 Chem Sources U.S.A.; Chemical Sources:  Clemson, SC, 1974.    SCI REF TP 12 .C44

·         Use to find out where you can buy a given chemical

·         White Pages:  alphabetical arrangement by chemical name gives abbreviations for the companies that sell the chemical

·         Green pages:  same as white pages but for dyes, stains, indicators.

·         Yellow Pages:  alphabetical listing of trade names, also by purpose or use

·         Blue pages:  companies listed alphabetical by their abbreviations, also a listing of full company name giving their abbreviations

 Merck Index, 15^th ed.; O’Neil, M. J., Ed.; Merck:  Whitehouse Station, N.J., 2001.  SCI REF RS 356 .M524, most recent edition will be behind the Science Reference Desk

·        Online edition

·        Concise descriptions of significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances

·         Gives Chemical Abstracts names and synonyms, MF, physical data, MW, structure, uses, and literature refs.

·         Also contains some miscellaneous tables and a CAS registry number index

·         Locate a particular entry using formula index or index of names

·         There is an entry for “Manna.” #5628 !

 Handbook of Inorganic Compounds; Perry, D. L.; Philips, S. L., Eds.; CRC Press:  Boca Raton, FL, 1995.   SCI REF QD 155.5 .H36

·         Compilation of data on inorganic compounds

·         Includes MF, MW, CAS RN, properties, solubility, density, mp, bp, reactions (limited), thermal conductivity, thermal expansion coefficient

·         Locate a given compound using CAS RN index, MF index, or Name/Synonym index

 Handbook of Physical Properties of Organic Chemicals, Howard, P. H.; Meylan, W. M., Eds., Lewis: Boca Raton, FL, 1997.   SCI REF QD 257.7 .H374

·         Contains physical and chemical property data for ~13,000 organic chemicals of environmental, pharmaceutical or commercial interest

·         Has chemical structure, formula, MW, mp, bp, water solubility, vapor pressure, dissociation constants and corresponding lit refs.

·         Ordered by CAS RN

·         If don’t know CAS RN then use MF index of Name index

 Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry, 15^th ed.; Dean, J. A., Ed.; McGraw-Hill:  San Francisco, 1999.  QD 65 .L36

·         Similar to CRC, lots of tables, data, properties and general information

·         Use the TOCs to locate information

·         There is also and index, but not totally comprehensive

 Web Resources

 CRC Handbook Web Edition

·         http://www.hbcpnetbase.com/

·         How to do keyword searching

·         Browsing table of contents

·         Advanced searching

·         Interactive tables

·         Also has available other online handbooks and dictionaries

Additional Print Resources

 Barton, D. Comprehensive Organic Chemistry; Pergamon: Oxford, 1979. QD 245. C65

Beilsteins Handbuch der Organischen Chemie; Springer-Verlag:  Berlin. QD 251.B42x

OPD Chemical Buyers Directory; Schnell:  New York, 1968/69.  TP 12.06

Concise Encyclopedia Chemistry; Jakubke, H. D.; Jeschkeit, H., Eds.; De Gruyter:  New York, 1994. QD 4.A2313

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 73rd ed.; Lide, D. R., Ed.; CRC:  Boca Raton, FL, 1978. QD 65.83

CRC Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds, 2nd ed.; Weast, R. C.; Grasselli, J. G., Eds.; CRC:  Boca Raton, FL, 1989. QD 257.7.H36

Encyclopedia of Chemical Reactions; Jacobson, C. A., Ed.; Reinhold: New York, 1946. QD 155. J3

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry; King, R. B., Ed.; Wiley: Chichester, England, 1994. QD 148. E53

Encyclopedia of Minerals, 2nd ed.; Roberts, W. L., Ed.; Van Norstrand Reinhold: New York, 1990. QE 355. R6

Gmelins Handbuch der anorganischen Chemie; Springer‑Verlag: Berlin, serial. 1924–   QD151 G52

Hackh, I. W. D. Chemical Dictionary, 4^th ed.; Grant, J., Ed.; McGraw-Hill: New York, 1969. QD S.H3

Hampel, C. A.; Hawley, G. G. The Encyclopedia of Chemistry; Van Nostrand Reinhold: New York, 1984. QD 5. E58

Hazardous Chemicals on File; Norback, C. T., Ed.; Facts on File:  New York, 1988. T SS.3. H3 N67

Horvath, A. L. Physical Properties of Inorganic Compounds; Edward Arnold: New York, 1975. QD 475. H67

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 3rd ed.; Grayson, M., Ed.; Wiley: New York, 1978. TP9. E685

Lenga, Robert E.; Votoupal, Kristine L. The Sigma-Aldrich Library of Regulatory and Safety Data; Sigma-Aldrich:  Milwaukee, 1993. T55.3 H3L46

Lewis, Richard Sr. Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference; Van Nostrand Reinhold:  New York, 2002. TSS.3.H3 L49

Material Safety Data Sheets Collection; Genium: Schenectady, NY, 1992.  T55.3.H3 M 382

Biochemical and Organic Compounds for Research and Diagnostic Reagents; Sigma: St. Louis, 1994. TP 202. S56a

Organic Electronic Spectral Data; Kamlet, M. J., Ed.; Interscience:  New York, 1946. QC 437. 065

Ullmanns=s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, 5th ed.; Gerhartz, W., Ed.; VCH: New York, 1993 TP 9. U57