Skip to main content

Step-by-Step Guide & Research Rescue: Subject & Alphabetical Lists of Step by Step Guides

This guide will help you understand how to efficiently and effectively do basic research.

Step-by-Step Guides

Accessing your sources can seem frustrating when it is not clear how you are supposed to obtain the full text of an article. But here's some good news - 99.995% (roughly) of all the articles and books you could possibly find through the library databases are completely accessible to you through one of a few simple methods.

Full text articles are shown with links to the PDF or HTML full text usually at the bottom of the entry of the listing in your search results. Simply click on this link or the title of the article and you will be redirected to the article.
·Example

A particular database may not have direct full text access, but that doesn't necessarily mean that the Library doesn't have access to it. Many times the article is linked to a full text version in another database. Click on the  button for the article to get access to the article via the methods listed below.

Print copy books and journals are housed in the shelves of the Library. Follow the link to locate the call number of the item.
·Example

Other databases listed under the page may have the full text article you are looking for, check the year of your article to make sure you select a compatible database to search in.
·Example

Interlibrary Loan is a service provided to students at BYU free of charge. If you are unable to access the book or article by any other method, Interlibrary Loan can get it for you. The Library has made an agreement with hundreds of other libraries in the nation and around the world to allow access to their materials. You simply submit your request, and usually within 24-48 hours you will receive an email informing you that your article has arrived and how to view the full content.
·Example

Subject List

Step-by-Step Research Guides will save you time, help you complete your research in a logical and efficient manner, and help you produce a better research paper. These have specifically been developed for First-Year Writing courses.  Use this Subject List or use the Alphabetical List .

Remember, if you need assistance at any point in your research, please ask for help at a Reference Desk or use online reference assistance by clicking on the Ask a Librarian page.

 

Accounting
Taxation

Agriculture / Animal Science
Animal Rights
Food Supply
Food Science & Nutrition
Pesticides

Ancient Studies / Classical Studies
Classical (Greek & Roman) Mythology
Philosophy

Animal Science (See Agriculture)

Art / Architecture
Architecture
Art History  
Art Therapy
Graphic Design & Illustration
Photography

Astronomy (See Physics)

Biology / Botany / Microbiology / Zoology        
Animal Rights
Biological & Chemical Warfare
Insects
Pesticides
Zoology

Botany (see Biology)

Business
Ethics, Business

Chemistry / Chemical Engingeering
Biological & Chemical Warfare

Classical Studies (See Ancient Studies)

Communications
Communications
Computers
Marketing
Television

Computer Science
Computers

Dance
Music
Recreation & Leisure

Design
Graphic Design & Illustration

Earth Sciences
Geology & Earth Sciences
Natural Disasters
Nuclear Energy
Renewable Energy
Weather

Economics
Economics
Employment / Unemployment
Marketing
Taxation


Education
Academic Freedom
Education

Engineering, Chemical (See Chemistry)

Engineering, Civil / Environmental
Environmental Pollution
Nuclear Energy
Recycling
Renewable Energy
Urban Growth & Development

Engineering, Electrical / Computer /
    Manufacturing / Mechanical
   
Air Traffic Control
Computers
Space Flight

Environmental Science
Animal Rights
Environmental Pollution
Environmental Science
Nuclear Energy
Recycling
Renewable Energy
Urban Growth & Development

Family Sciences
Divorce
Family & Parenting

Film / Theatre
Film

Food Science & Nutrition
Food Additives
Food Supply
Food Science & Nutrition
Pesticides


Health Sciences / Medicine / Nursing
AIDS (disease)
Alcoholism
Birth Defects
Cancer (disease)
Diabetes
Drug Abuse
Immunity to Disease
Medical Ethics
Medical Technology
Medicine, Alternative
Medicine, General
Medicine, Sports
Food Science & Nutrition
Physical Education & Fitness
Public Health
Smoking


History - American
American History
Indians of North America
U.S. Civil War
Vietnam War
World War I
World War II

History - World
Arab-Israeli Conflict
British History
China
Communism
French History & Politics
German History & Politics
The Middle East
Reformation
Vietnam War
World History
World War I
World War II

International Studies
Arab-Israeli Conflict
Economics
Globalization
The Middle East

Juvenile Literature
Family & Parenting
Literature

Law
Academic Freedom
Animal Rights
Capital Punishment
Censorship
Children's Rights
Church and State in America
Freedom of Speech in America
Human Rights
Prisoner Rehabilitation
Taxation
U.S. Supreme Court
Women's Rights

Literature
Literature

Medicine (See Health Sciences)

Microbiology (See Biology)

Music
Music
Music Therapy

Nursing (See Health Sciences)

Nutrition (See Food Science & Nutrition)

Philosophy
Business Ethics
China
Medical Ethics
Philosophy

Physical Education / Recreation Management
Physical Education & Fitness
Recreation & Leisure
Medicine, Sports

Physics / Astronomy
Astronomy & Physics
Space Flight

Political Science
American Bureaucracy
Biological & Chemical Warfare
China
Communism
Disarmament
Freedom of Speech in America
Globalization
Immigration / Human Migration
Nuclear Warfare
Race Relations
Taxation
Terrorism
United Nations
U.S. Foreign Policy
U.S. Supreme Court
Urban Growth & Development
Voting & Elections
Women's Rights
World Democracy

Psychology
Art Therapy
Biofeedback
Crime / Violence
Drug Abuse
Eating Disorders
Mental Health
Music Therapy
Psychology
Violence / Crime

Recreation Management (See Physical Education)

Religion
Church and State in America
Judaism
Mormonism

Social Work
(The) Homeless
Social Work Programs

Sociology
Children's Rights
Communism
Crime / Violence
Employment / Unemployment
Food Supply
(The) Homeless
Human Rights
Immigration / Human Migration
Prisoner Rehabilitation
Public Health
Public Welfare
Race Relations
Refugees
Unemployment / Employment
Violence / Crime
Women's Rights

Theatre (See Film)

Travel / Tourism
Air Traffic Control
Immigration / Human Migration
Recreation & Leisure
Refugees
Urban Growth & Development

Sports (See Physical Education)

Women's Studies
Women's Rights

Zoology (See Biology)

Alphabetical List

Step-by-Step Research Guides are available online for over 100 broad topics. These topics have been preresearched by library personnel to insure that the library has information on many of the issues within the broad topic area. They also provide helpful instruction on where to go to find information on each topic. Each guide leads the researcher step-by-step through the research process.  Use this Alphabetical List or use the Subject List.