Google Book SearchGoogle Book Search searches a growing "database" of digitized books with access to Full Text View, Sample Page View, and Snippet Views, depending on the title.
ProQuest Ebooks (ebrary)This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 220,000 books, with concentrations in business and economics, computers and technology, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
EBSCO Electronic BooksThis link opens in a new windowEBSCO's ebook collection contains over 100,000 ebooks on a wide variety of subsjects.
Project GutenbergThis link opens in a new windowNo latest bestsellers or modern computer books here, but plenty of classics from the literary canon.
Manybooks.netE-texts from the Project Gutenberg DVD Project available in a variety of formats, including pdf, eReader, and as Palm document files.
SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new windowSpringer publishes millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
Online Books Page, TheAbout 13,000 books, mostly older titles that are in the public domain.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Oxford Reference OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. Also includes access to Oxford Digital Reference, a collection of 17 ebooks covering The Renaissance, Dance, Global Change, The Reformation, Byzantium, Theatre and Performance, The Enlightenment, Economic History, Evolution, Ancient Egypt, Food and Drink in America, The Middle Ages, American Literature, Latinos and Latinas in the United States, British Literature, Linguistics, and Children's Literature.
Synthesis Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowEngineering and computer science electronic books that synthesize an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field.
O'Reilly Books OnlineThis link opens in a new windowO’Reilly includes tech and business content from more than 200 publishers - along with videos, case studies, courses and exclusive OReilly-produced content from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders. Previously Safari Tech Books.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)This link opens in a new windowAlternate title: ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online). Gale's Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is based on the English Short Title Catalog (ESTC), and contains English-language and foreign-language titles published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. 150,000 printed works (some 33 million pages) covering the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Industrial Revolution. Full-text searchable, ECCO enables library patrons to search for books and broadsides, Bibles, tracts and sermons, printed ephemera, and studies in every academic discipline: History and Geography, Social Science and Fine Arts, Medicine, Science and Technology, Literature and Language, Religion and Philosophy, and Law.
Making of AmericaThis link opens in a new windowThe Making of America (MOA) represents a major collaborative endeavor to preserve and make accessible through digital technology a significant body of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure... The initial phase of the project began in 1995 as a collaboration between the University of Michigan and Cornell University to develop a "thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction." Over 5,000 volumes with imprints between 1850 - 1877 will be selected, scanned, and made available to the academic communities at each institution."
Making of AmericaThe Making of America (MOA) represents a major collaborative endeavor to preserve and make accessible through digital technology a significant body of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure... The initial phase of the project began in 1995 as a collaboration between the University of Michigan and Cornell University to develop a "thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction." Over 5,000 volumes with imprints between 1850 - 1877 will be selected, scanned, and made available to the academic communities at each institution."
Sabin Americana Digital Archive (Gale)This link opens in a new windowBased on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Early English Books Online (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125,000 titles published between 1475-1700. Combining the listings of the major short-title catalogs, EEBO includes publications in all subjects: literature, religion, government, medicine, science, and music. EEBO provides the facsimile of each work, so researchers can study these publications as they appeared: books printed by William Caxton, the earliest editions of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, The Book of Common Prayer (1549), The King James Bible (1611), Shakespeare's First Folio (1623), and works by Erasmus, Sir Isaac Newton, Bacon, Sir Thomas More, Galileo, as well as acts of Parliament, government documents on the early slave trade, and musical exercises by Henry Purcell.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - TextsThis link opens in a new window2,400 searchable and readable editions of EEBO documents that link immediately to the corresponding image files.
