Skip to main content

Classical Studies: Articles

Periodical Indexes

The best periodical index to use for classical studies is L'Année Philologique. Database of Classical Bibliography also covers classical studies, but is for a more limited period. Other indexes listed are more general.


Highly recommended

L'Année Philologique

1924-present. Indexes books and periodical articles as well as articles in collections and conference papers in classics and classical studies. It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and paleography etc. For more information about L'Année Philologique, to to the project's home page.

L'Année Philologique (Print) -- Ancient Studies PA 29 .A55

Many library users find the paper version of L'Année Philologique easier to use than the electronic version. It is available in the Ancient Studies Room.

Gnomon. Journal chiefly devoted to reviews of classics book.

Periodicals Room PA 3 .G6

Also available through JSTOR (authentication required)

Gnomon Online. This online index, related to Gnomon, includes bibliographies of articles, books, reviews, and translations. It is less comprehensive, but more up to date than L’Année Philologique. Choose "title search."

Oxford Bibliographies - Classics

Growing set of bibliographies by classical scholars on topics ranging from individual authors such as Aeschylus and Ovid to historical figures such as Alexander the Great to broad topics such as papyrology or epigraphy. Each bibliography includes a brief introductory essay (including biographies or historical overviews) and citations to the most important books and articles on the topic. See also the Oxford Art History Bibliographies.

 


Other indexes

Art Source (EBSCO)

Indexes and abstracts periodicals in art, archaeology, architecture, design, photography, film, theatre, and television, animation, etc. Includes reviews of books, art exhibitions, films, and plays, and art reproductions in journals. Contains full-text coverage of periodicals from 1929 to the present.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Use to find citations of an article in later articles. Once in the Index, choose "Cited Reference Search" (in the dropdown list next to "Basic Search"). Coverage is not comprehensive, so use the Arts and Humanities Citation Index in conjunction with JSTOR and Project Muse (see below). To use these databases for citation searching, do a search on the name of the author and the title (within quotes), e.g.

dewar and "octavian and orestes in the finale"

ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)

A Religious Studies database. This database produced by the American Theological Library Association includes information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. References come from more than 600 journals and other sources and are in 35 languages. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Terms of use: NO systematic downloading. Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)

This database indexes and abstracts the current literature on the history of Western art. Includes books, articles, collected essays, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, museum publications, etc. Includes its two predecessors--RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) and the French RAA (repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie). Coverage is of works from late antiquity to the present. Sponsored by the Getty Research Institute.

Humanities Source (EBSCO)

Most comprehensive resource in the Humanities, indexing over 14,000 journal titles and full-text for more than 1,400. International coverage for areas including archaeology, art, classical studies, dance, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, religion, etc.

International Medieval Bibliography

Multidisciplinary bibliography (including classical studies) of Europe, North Africa and the Near East covering the period 300-1500 A.D.

International Bibliography of Art (ProQuest)

JSTOR

1984-present. Updated 4 times a week. Indexes and abstracts over 500 periodicals in art, archaeology, classical studies, communications, film, theatre, literature, folklore, etc. Full-text for only 180+ publications since 1995. Includes reviews of books, films, plays and links to web sites and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Search using WilsonWeb commands. JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)

Terms of use: NO systematic downloading. Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.

Project Muse

Full text of over 200 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and mathematics. For a list of Classics journals included click here.

TOCS-IN

Table of contents service for Classics journals.

Your Librarian

Robert L. Maxwell's picture
Robert L. Maxwell
Contact:
6728 Harold B. Lee Library

Brigham Young University

Provo, Utah 84602

(801)422-5568

robert_maxwell@byu.edu

Find Magazines and Journals at BYU

Once you have found an article, search here by journal title to find the journal in the Library. This search covers both electronic and print journals.