Skip to main content

Classical Studies: Companions: Oxford

"Companions" : Oxford Companions, Handbooks, Readings

Collections of essays by specialists introducing the reader to major issues on classics topics

Click on to access the BYU Catalog description of the book.


Oxford Companions and Handbooks

Oxford readings in classical studies: Aeschylus. Ed. Michael Lloyd. 2007.

Lee Stacks PA 3829 .O94 2007

Oxford readings in classical studies: ancient literary criticism. Ed. Andrew Laird. 2006.

Lee Stacks PA 3013 .O97 2006

The Oxford handbook of animals in classical thought and life. Ed. Gordon Lindsay Campbell. 2014.

Lee Stacks QL 87 .O94x 2014

Oxford companion to archaeology. Ed. Brian M. Fagan and others. 1996.

Social Science Reference CC 70 .O96 1996

Available electronically here (authentication required).

 The Oxford handbook of archaeology. Ed. Barry Cunliffe, Chris Gosden, Rosemary A. Joyce. 2009.

Lee Stacks CC 165 .O94x 2009

Oxford readings in Aristophanes. Ed. Erich Segal. 1996.

Lee Stacks PA 3879 .O94 1996

The Oxford handbook of Aristotle. Ed. Christopher Shields. 2012.

Lee Stacks B 485 .O94 2015

Oxford readings in classical studies: the Attic orators. Ed. Edwin Carawan. 2007.

Lee Stacks PA 3264 .O94 2007

 The Oxford handbook of the Bronze Age Aegean. Ed. Eric H. Cline. 2012.

Lee Stacks DF 220 .O946 2010

 The Oxford handbook of Byzantine studies. Ed. Elizabeth Jeffreys with John Haldon and Robin Cormack. 2008.

Lee Stacks DF 552 .O93 2008

 The Oxford handbook of childhood and education in the classical world. Ed. Judith Evans Grubbs and Tim Parkin. 2013.

Lee Stacks DE 61 .C4 O58 2013

Oxford companion to classical civilization. Ed. Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth. 1998.

Humanities Reference DE 5 .O84x 1998

Available electronically here (authentication required).

The Oxford companion to classical literature. Ed. M.C. Howatson. 2011. 

Humanities Reference PA 31 .H69 2011

Available electronically here (authentication required).

 The Oxford handbook of engineering and technology in the classical world. Ed. John Peter Oleson. 2008.

Lee Stacks T 16 .O94 2008

Oxford readings in classical studies: Euripides. Ed. Judith Mossman. 2003.

Lee Stacks PA 3978 .E884 2003

Oxford readings in classical studies: Flavian epic. Ed. A. Augoustakis. 2016.

Lee Stacks PA 6791 .V4 F528 2016

The Oxford handbook of Greek and Roman art and architecture. Ed. Clemente Marconi. 2015.

Lee Stacks N 5630 .O94 2015

 The Oxford handbook of Greek and Roman coinage. Ed. William E. Metcalf. 2012.

Lee Stacks CJ 339 .O95 2012

 The Oxford handbook of Greek and Roman comedy. Ed. Michael Fontaine and Adele C. Scafuro. 2014.

Lee Stacks PA 3028 .O87 2014

Oxford readings in classical studies: Greek and Roman historiography. Ed. John Marincola. 2003.

Lee Stacks DE 8 .G74x 2011

The Oxford handbook of Greek drama in the Americas. Ed. Kathryn Bosher, Fiona Macintosh, Justine McConnell, and Patrice Rankine.2015.

Lee Stacks PA 3133 .O94 2015

Oxford readings in classical studies: Greek Lyric. Ed. I Rutherford. 2019.

On order for Lee Stacks 20 May 2019

Oxford readings in the Greek novel. Ed. Simon Swain. 1999..

Lee Stacks PA 3267 .O94 1999

Oxford readings in Greek tragedy. Ed. Erich Segal. 1983.

Lee Stacks PA 3133 .O93 1983

 The Oxford handbook of Hellenic studies. Ed. George Boys-Stones, Barbara Graziosi and Phiroze Vasunia. 2009.

Lee Stacks DF 235 .O94x 2009

 Oxford readings in classical studies: Herodotus. Ed. Rosaria Vignolo Munson. 2003. 2 vols.

Lee Stacks PA 4004 .H46 2013

 The Oxford handbook of Hesiod. Ed. Alexander C.Loney, Stephen Scully. 2018.

Lee Stacks PA 4011 .O96 2018

Oxford readings in classical studies: Homer's Odyssey. Ed. Lillian E. Doherty. 2009.

Lee Stacks PA 4037 .A5 H798 2009

Oxford readings in classical studies: Homer's Iliad. Ed. Douglas L. Cairns. 2002.

Lee Stacks PA 4037 .A5 O94 2001

Oxford readings in classical studies: Horace, odes and epodes. Ed. Michele Lowrie. 2009.

Lee Stacks PA 6411 .H5953 2009

Oxford readings in classical studies: Horace, satires and epistles. Ed. Kirk Freudenburg. 2009.

Lee Stacks PA 6411 .H5955 2009

 The Oxford handbook of Jewish daily life in Roman Palestine. Ed. Catherine Hezser. 2010.

Lee Stacks DS 122 .O94 2010

 The Oxford handbook of The Oxford handbook of late antiquity. Ed. Scott Johnson. 2016.

Lee Stacks DE 80 .O84 2016

 Oxford readings in classical studies: Latin panegyric. Ed. Roger Rees. 2012.

Lee Stacks PA 6083 .L38x 2012

 Oxford readings in classical studies: Livy. Ed. Jane D. Chaplin and Christina S. Kraus. 2008.

Lee Stacks PA 6459 .L58 2009

 Oxford readings in classical studies: Lucan. Ed. Charles Tesoriero, Frances Muecke, and Tamara Neal. 2010.

Lee Stacks PA 6480 .L775 2010

 Oxford readings in classical studies: Lucretius. Ed. Monica R. Gale. 2007.

Lee Stacks PA 6484 .L85 2011

 The Oxford handbook of medieval Latin literature. Ed. Catherine Hezser. 2012.

Lee Stacks PA 2025 .O94 2012

 The Oxford handbook of neo-Latin. Ed. Sarah Knight and Stefan Trig. 2015.

Lee Stacks PA 8015 .O96 2015

Oxford readings in classical studies: Ovid. Ed. Peter E. Knox. 2006.

Lee Stacks PA 6537 .O94 2006

 The Oxford handbook of papyrology. Ed. Roger S. Bagnall. 2009.

Ancient Studies Z 110 .P36 O98 2009

 The Oxford handbook of Plato. Ed. Gail Fine. 2008.

E-book (accessible through the catalog record by authentication [click on the diamond to the left of the title])

 The Oxford handbook of presocratic philosophy. Ed. Patricia Curd and Daniel W. Graham. 2011.

E-book (accessible through the catalog record by authentication [click on the diamond to the left of the title])

Oxford readings in classical studies: Propertius. Ed. Ellen Greene and Tara S. Welch. 2012.

Lee Stacks PA 6646 .P76x 2012

 The Oxford handbook of Roman Egypt. Ed. Christina Riggs. 2012.

Lee Stacks DT 93 .A2 O94x 2012

The Oxford handbook of Roman epigraphy. Ed. Christer Bruun and Jonathan Edmondson. 2014.

Ancient Studies CN 525 .O94 2015

Oxford readings in classical studies: the Roman historical tradition: regal and republican Rome. Ed. James H. Richardson and Federico Santangelo. 2014.

Lee Stacks DG 231.3 .R66x 2014

Oxford readings in the Roman novel. Ed. S.J. Harrison. 1999.

Lee Stacks PA 6091 .O94 1999

The Oxford handbook of Roman sculpture. Ed. Elise A. Freidland. 2015.

Humanities Reference NB 115 .O925x 2015

 The Oxford handbook of Roman studies. Ed. Alessandro Barchiesi and Walter Scheidel. 2010.

Lee Stacks DG 209 .O94 2010

 The Oxford handbook of social relations in the Roman world. Ed. Michael Peachin. 2011.

Lee Stacks HN 10 .R7 O94 2011

 The Oxford handbook of Oxford readings in classical studies: Seneca. Ed. John G. Fitch. 2008.

Lee Stacks B 618 .S387 2008

Oxford readings in classical studies: Sport in the Greek and Roman world. Ed. Thomas F. Scanlon. 2014. 2 vols.

Lee Stacks GV 573 .S76x 2014 (vol. 1)

Lee Stacks GV 573 .S77x 2014 (vol. 2)

Oxford readings in classical studies: Tacitus. Ed. Rhiannon Ash. 2012.

Lee Stacks DG 206 .T32 T33 2012

The Oxford handbook of Thucydides. Ed. Ryan K. Balot 2017.

Lee Stacks DF 229 .T6 O84 2017

Oxford readings in classical studies: Thucydides. Ed. Jeffrey S. Rusten. 2009.

Lee Stacks DF 229 .T6 T52x 2009

Oxford readings in Virgil's Aeneid. Ed. S.J. Harrison. 1990.

Lee Stacks PA 6825 .O94 1990

The Oxford handbook of warfare in the classical world. Ed. Brian Campbell and Lawrence A. Tritle. 2013.

Lee Stacks U 29 .O93 2013

The Oxford companion to world mythology. Ed. David Leeming. 2005.

Religion/Family History Reference BL 312 .L44 2005