Skip to main content

Classical Studies: Classical Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks

Classical Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks

See also "Companions" in the drop down menu of the Background tab.

Click on to access the BYU Catalog description of the book.


Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. Antiquity. 2002-2010. 16 volumes.

The best encyclopedia in English for classical studies. This section of Brill's New Pauly covers the ancient world.

Humanities Reference DE 5 .N4813 2002

Available electronically here (authentication required). The original German edition is also available here.

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. Classical Tradition. 2006-2011. 6 volumes.

The best encyclopedia in English for classical studies. This section of Brill's New Pauly covers the reception of classics in the modern world.

Humanities Reference DE 5 .N4913 2002

Available electronically here (authentication required). The original German edition is also available here.

Brill's New Pauly Supplements

Supplement 1. Chronologies of the ancient world : names, dates and dynasties. Edited by Walter Eder and Johannes Renger ; translated and edited by Wouter F.M. Henkelman ; assistant editor, Robert Chenault.

Humanities Reference DE 5 .N513 vol.1

Available electronically here (authentication required). The original German edition is also available here.

Supplement 2. Dictionary of Greek and Latin authors and texts. Edited by Manfred Landfester in collaboration with Brigitte Egger ; translated and edited by Tina Jerke and Volker Dallman.

Humanities Reference DE 5 .N513 vol.2

Available electronically here (authentication required). The original German edition is also available here.

Supplement 3. Brill's New Pauly historical atlas of the ancient world. Edited by Anne-Maria Wittke, Eckart Olshausen, and Richard Szydlak ; in collaboration with Vera Sauer and other specialists ; English edition by Christine F. Salazar, with Dieter Prankel, Duncan Smart (transdlation), and Corinna Vermeulen (editing).

Humanities Reference DE 5 .N513 vol.3

Available electronically here (authentication required). The original German edition is also available here.

Supplement 4. The reception of myth and mythology. Edited by Maria Moog-Grünewald ; translated and edited by Duncan Smart, David van Eijndhoven, Christine Salazar and Francis G. Gentry.

Humanities Reference DE 5 .N513 vol.4

Available electronically here (authentication required). The original German edition is also available here.

Supplement 5. The reception of classical literature. Edited by Christine Walde in collaboration with Brigitte Egger ; translated and edited by Duncan Smart and Matthijs H. Wibier.

Humanities Reference DE 5 .N513 vol.5

Available electronically here (authentication required). The original German edition is also available here.

Supplement 6. History of classical scholarship : a biographical dictionary. Edited by Peter Kuhlmann and Helmuth Schneider ; translated and edited by Duncan Smart and Chad M. Schroeder.

Humanities Reference DE 5 .N513 vol.6

Available electronically here (authentication required). The original German edition is also available here.

Supplement 7. Figures of antiquity and their reception in art, literature and music. Edited by Peter von Mollendorff, Annette Simonis, and Linda Simonis ; translated and edited by Duncan Smart and Cad M. Schroede. 2016.

Humanities Reference DE 5 .N513 vol.7

Available electronically here (authentication required). The original German edition is also available here.

Supplement 8. The reception of antiquity in Renaissance humanism. Edited by Manfred Landfester. 2017

Humanities Reference DE 5 .N513 vol.8

Available electronically here (authentication required). The original German edition is also available here.

Supplement 9. The early Mediterranean world, 1200-600 BC. Edited by Anne-Maria Wittke. 2018

Humanities Reference DE 5 .N513 vol.9

Available electronically here (authentication required). The original German edition is also available here.

Supplement 10. History and culture of Byzantium. Edited by Falko Daim. 2019

On order for Humanities Reference 14 October 2019

Not yet available electronically. The original German edition is available here (authentication required).

Der neue Pauly: Enzyklopädie der Antike. 1996-2003. 19 volumes.

Der Neue Pauly is the German original of Brill's New Pauly. It, in turn, is a shorter, updated version of Paulys Real-Enzyklopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft (see below).

Ancient Studies DE 5 .N48 1996

Available electronically here (authentication required).

 Paulys Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. 1894-2001

The most complete encyclopedia of the ancient and classical world, running to approximately 75 volumes. Also known as Pauly-Wissowa or PW. In German. If you need a really obscure fact about the ancient world, try this!

Ancient Studies DE 5 .P33 

Handbuch der Altertumswissenschaft. 1885-

Encyclopedic compendium of knowledge about the ancient world, but arranged by topic rather than alphabetically. For the organization, see the article in Wikipedia.

Ancient Studies PA 25 .H24

C. Daremberg and E. Saglio, Dictionnaire des antiquités grecques et romaines. Paris, 1877-1919 (and later reprints). 10 vols.

Ancient Studies DE 5 .D22 1962

Searchable online version.

The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 4th edition. 2012.

Shorter than the encyclopedic Brill's New Pauly, the best concise dictionary of the classical world. Includes brief, reliable bibliographies. Available electronically via Oxford Reference Library and in print in . Authentication required for electronic version.

Humanities Reference DE 5 .O9 2012

Ancient Studies DE 5 .O9 2012

Available electronically here of third edition (2003) (authentication required).

Dickey, Eleanor. Ancient Greek scholarship : a guide to finding, reading, and understanding scholia, commentaries, lexica, and grammatical treatises, from their beginnings to the Byzantine period. 2007.

Step-by-step guide to navigating the texts of and secondary literature on scholia, ancient lexica, and ancient grammars. Includes a glossary of over 1500 grammatical terms.

Humanities Reference PA 53 .D53 2007 

Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece. 2005.

Humanities Reference DF 16 .E52 2005 

Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (Brill)

The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.The Library also owns Brill's Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics.

The Encyclopedia of Ancient History. 2013. 13 volumes.

Comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship on the entire ancient Mediterranean world from the late Bronze Age through the seventh century C.E.

Social Science Reference D 54 .E53 2013

Available electronically here (authentication required).

Cook, James Wyatt. Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature. 2008.

Humanities Reference PN 621 .C66 2008

Available electronically here (authentication required).

The encyclopedia of Greek comedy, edited by Alan H. Sommerstein. 2019.

Humanities Reference PA3161 .E53 2019

Available electronically here (authentication required).

The Encyclopedia of Religion. 2005.

Excellent articles with extensive bibliography. Print at Humanities Reference DE 5 .O84 1998 BL 31 .E46 1993. Authentication required for electronic version.

Religion Reference BL 31 .E46 2005

Available electronically here (authentication required).

Latin Place Names File 

A thesaurus of Latin place names found in the imprints of books printed before 1801. Gives vernacular equivalents in AACR2 (Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules) form.

Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World. 2005 

2,500+ entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece & Rome. Covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life & literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, & religion. Authentication required. Also available in print at

Social Science Reference DE 5 .O94 2005

Available electronically here (authentication required).

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome 

A comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites. 1976.

Covers over 3,000 sites of remains of cities, towns, and settlements of classical era. Includes history, maps, listings of present remains, and bibliographies.

Social Science Reference DE 59 .P7

Ancient Studies DE 59 .P7

Who's Who in the Classical World. 2000.

Humanities Reference DE 7 .W46 2000 

Available electronically here (authentication required).