Andrews, Tamra. Legends of the Earth, Sea and Sky: An Encyclopedia of Nature Myths (Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1998). Alphabetic arrangement. Includes guide to primary sources, bibliograpy, indexes. Humanities Reference BL 435 .A53 1998
Leeming, David Adams & Margaret Adams Leeming. Encyclopedia of Creation Myths (Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1994). Humanities Reference BL 325 .C7 L44 1994. Also available as an e-book (for access, look up the title in the library catalog).
Room, Adrian. NTC's Classical Dictionary: The Origins of the Names of Characters in Classical Mythology (Lincolnwood, Ill.: National Textbook Company, 1990). Humanities Reference BL 727 .R58 1990
Bell, Robert E. Dictionary of Classical Mythology: Symbols, Attributes and Associations (Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1982). Arranged by symbol or attribute, e.g., "lamb," "serpent," "music," showing mythological figures associated with each. Humanities Reference BL 715 .B44 1982
Preston, Percy. A Dictionary of Pictorial Subjects from Classical Literature: A Guide to their Identification in Works of Art. (New York: Scribner, 1983). Humanities Reference N 7760 .P68 1983
See also "Art," above.
Grove Art Online (part of Oxford Art Oline) Also available in print at Humanities Reference N 31 .D5 1996.
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC) (Zurich: Artemis, 1981-1999) 16 v. + Indexes. Arranged by mythological name. Extremely comprehensive, covering all known works of ancient art illustrating mythological themes and subjects. Articles in English, German, French, or Italian. Each v. has two parts: pt. 1 is text and commentary, pt. 2 is plates, showing most of the works (in black and white). Articles have extensive bibliography of sources and modern treatments. Ancient Studies N 7760 .L49 1981
Reid, Jane Davidson. The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s (New York: Oxford University Press, 1993). 2 v. Arranged by mythological name. Lists modern works, both art and literature, based on classical mythology. Bibliographies of sources, later treatments. Humanities Reference NX 650 .M9 R45 1993
Rochelle, Mercedes. Mythological and classical world art index: a locator of paintings, sculptures, frescoes, manuscript illuminations, sketches, woodcuts and engravings executed 1200 B.C. to A.D. 1900, with a directory of the institutions holding them (Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1991). Humanities Reference N 7760 .R63 1991
Digitized images of art, including depictions of myth, are available through the Library. Go to the Classical Studies guide, and click on "Websites, Images, Full text, etc." See also the Iconography guide.
Boswell, Fred & Jeanetta Boswell. What Men or Gods are These?: A Genealogical Approach to Classical Mythology (Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1980) Humanities Reference BL 782 .B6
Parada, Carlos. Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology (Jonsered: Astrom, 1993) (Studies in Mediterranean Archaeology ; vol. 107). Humanities Reference BL 785 .P37 1993
Grimal, Pierre. Dictionary of Classical Mythology (Oxford: Blackwell, 1996). Humanities Reference BL 715 . G713 1996
Grant, Michael & John Hazel. Gods and Mortals in Classical Mythology (Springfield, Mass.: Merriam, 1973). Humanities Reference BL 715 .G67 1973
Ann, Martha & Dorothy Myers Imel. Goddesses in World Mythology (Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1993). Arranged by culture. Connects goddesses across cultures through cross-references. Includes bibliography and index. Humanities Reference BL 473.5 .A66 1993. Also available as an e-book (for access, look up the title in the library catalog).
Bell, Robert E. Women of Classical Mythology: A Bibliographical Dictionary (Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1991). Includes references to ancient sources. Index of male names mentioned in the articles. Humanities Reference BL 715 .B445 1991. Also available as an e-book (for access, look up the title in the library catalog).
