Subject Guides: Accounting: Career

Firsthand/Vault Guides

Firsthand (formerly Vault Online Career Library) This link opens in a new window
Requires free registration which must be completed on-campus. Vault.com provides in-depth intelligence on what its really like to work within an industry, company, or professionand how to position yourself to launch and build the career you want. Vault is best known for its influential rankings, ratings, and reviews on thousands of top employers and hundreds of internship programs. Vault Guidebooks cover a broad range of disciplines and include industry guides, employer rankings, and job seeking skills.
For educational and research purposes only.

The following guides at available at FirstHand

Career guide to accounting
Guide to the top 50 accounting firms
Guide to accounting jobs
Guide to hedge fund jobs
Guide to private equity jobs
Guide to venture capital jobs
Guide to wealth management jobs
Guide to insurance jobs
Guide to consulting jobs
Guide to banking and financial services jobs
Guide to investment management jobs.

Finding Internships

Starting and Maintaining a Quality Internship Program Special thanks to the Pittsburgh Technology Council and Messiah College for providing materials to make this manual possible.
Why Intern? Should You Do An Internship? What an Internship Can Do For You By Dawn Rosenberg McKay, About.com Guide
Internships by BYU Marriott School Internships
The Ten Commandments for Job Interviews or Internships! The Ten Commandments For Job Interviews Whereby Your Chances of Finding a Job Are Vastly Increased
Turning Your Internship into a Job: How College Students Can Get a Job Offer After Interning
How To Get An Awesome Internship By Forbes
Turn Your Internship Into Your Job
Top 20 Undergraduate Internship Programs for College Students

Vault Guide to Top Internships, 2016 Edition by Vault Editors
ISBN: 9781438166551
Publication Date: 2015-12-01

Ernst & Young Top Ten Success Rules

Ernst & Young provided the Marriott School Career Center with the following Top Ten Rules of Success for your Summer internship.

Communicate up and down the line.
Identify problems and bring solutions.
Treat everyone with respect.
Listen actively.
Be positive – Attitude determines Altitude.
Set expectations – Up and down the line.
Work hard.
Be prompt – even early.
Seek feedback.
Take charge of your own career.

Employment

Career One Stop
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Information about educational levels for various occupations, as well as average wage ranges by occupation and geographical area.
Workforce Jobs Workforce is a multimedia publication that covers the intersection of people management and business strategy. Includes job postings.
Homefair.com
Includes multiple calculators that compare the salary, cost of living, city reports, and school reports in most large cities in the US.
Occupational Employment Statistics Homepage
by U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. (Includes national and metropolitan wage estimates)
Salary.com
Includes a "Salary Wizard" that provides a benchmark for salaries by industry and zip code.
Wages by Area and Occupation
by U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Business Directories

Gale Directory Library
Who Audits America?
Available in stacks HF 5616 .U6 W5
The Big 4 Accounting Firms
Deloitte
Ernst & Young
KPMG
PricewaterhouseCoopers
Utah Employer Web Site

Networking

Vault Guide to Networking by Salpeter, Miriam Provides insight and advice into identifying your existing network and growing and maintaining it, including information on how to master and use social media, such as LinkedIn, Twitter and Facebook.
ISBN: 9781438165615
21st-Century Networking by David Sole; Belinda Roberts Networking can be seen as a daunting and intimidating task, yet interpersonal relationships remain at the heart of success for career and business development. In straightforward and simple terms, this book offers a practical approach to developing this core skill. Including chapters on assessing your networks, developing your personal brand, the softer skills of networking, using social media and making networking part of your everyday life, 21st Century Networking is filled with case studies to bring the theory to life through real examples
ISBN: 9781783962310
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Brilliant effective business networking by D'Souza, Steven Being brilliant at networking is the essential skill for personal and career success, whether going after a dream job, branching out and starting a business or simply to meet new people.
ISBN: 129208409X
Business Networking: The Survival Guide by Will Kintish The Survival Guide helps you overcome all your fears and concerns. Start navigating the networking jungle like an expert as you build your confidence, raise your profile, create new connections, strengthen your support network and open up exciting new opportunities.
ISBN: 978-1-292-00939-1
Publication Date: 2014
Get Connected by Starr Hall; Chadd Rosenberg
ISBN: 9781599183589
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Introduction to social networking -- How to use social networking for your business -- Money vs. time -- Take baby steps -- Jump start your social networking with top 2 business sites -- Blogging 101 -- Proper net-i-quette -- How to be efficient with your social networking -- Reviews of social networking sites -- Social networking case studies.
Interviewing and Business Networking - Streaming Video by Kanopy (Firm) Packed with information on the correct way to handle interviews and how to network, this video offers the four important steps for a successful interview. It explains how to create an elevator speech, as well as teaching the six tips for successful business networking through case studies and role-playing
Never Eat Alone by Keith Ferrazzi; Tahl Raz
ISBN: 9780385512053
Publication Date: 2005-02-22
Explaining how to turn one-time contacts into a lifelong circle of mentors, colleagues, and friends, a guide to the art of networking reveals the fundamental principles of what it takes to build lasting, mutually beneficial relationships.

Other Career Information sites

Occupational Outlook Handbook Basic career information about Accountants and Auditors. (Work environment, pay and job outlook)
Occupational Employment Statistics Homepage Employment estimate and mean wage estimate for accountants and auditors.
Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCO) Career related articles from Accounting Today.

Wall Street Oasis This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

Resumes & Cover Letters

The Vault guide to resumes and job-hunting skills by Hinds, Maurene J.
ISBN: 9781438148465
Publication Date: 2016
Provides insight and advice for all the essential elements of the job-hunting process, from organizing and perfecting your resume to the ins and outs of submitting it to employers to preparing for an interview and answering tough questions
The guide to basic cover letter writing by Provenzano, Steven
The guide to basic resume writing
Get the interview every time: Fortune 500 hiring professsionals' tips for writing winning resumes and cover letters by Greene, Brenda
Resumes for sales and marketing careers: with sample cover letters
101 Great Resumes by Ron Fry
ISBN: 1598638556
Publication Date: 2009-02-12
Expert Resumes for Career Changers by Wendy S. Enelow; Louise M. Kursmark
ISBN: 9781593577810
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
eBook Only
Resume writing made easy : a practical guide to resume preparation and job search by Brown, Lola
Call Number: HF 5383 .C69 2007
Expert resumes for managers and executives by Enelow, Wendy S.
Call Number: HF 5383 .E47879
Other resumes books available at HBLL 1st floor south - HF5383

Interviewing

*Other print books available at HBLL, 1st floor, south HF 5549.5 I6

Boost Your Interview IQ by Carole Martin
ISBN: 9780071797467
Publication Date: 2012-04-26
Knock 'Em Dead Job Interview by Martin Yate
ISBN: 9781440536793
Publication Date: 2012-12-18
Interview Question and Answer Book by James Innes
ISBN: 9780273763710
Publication Date: 2012-05-30
Powerful Phrases for Successful Interviews by Tony Beshara; Phil McGraw (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780814433553
Publication Date: 2014
Hiring expert Tony Beshara knows the words that trigger "yes" in the minds of employers--and in his handy new book, he arms candidates with hundreds of ready-to-use responses to even the toughest interview questions. Covering entry-level to executive positions and encompassing all industries, this quick-reference guide propels job seekers through every stage of the process
Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation by Consentino, Marc
Call Number: HD69.C6C645
Print Only
Case interview secrets: A former McKinsey interviewer reveals how to get multiple job offers in consulting by Victor Cheng
Call Number: HD 69 .C6 C43x 2012 Floor 1–C
ISBN: 9780984183524
Publication Date: 2012
Print Only

Firsthand (formerly Vault Online Career Library) This link opens in a new window
Click GUIDES, Scroll down find ADVISE GUIDES, Click INTERVIEWING. Case interviews are a crucial part of the hiring process in the consulting industry. Designed to test an applicant's knowledge of business and financial models, their ability to think fast, and sometimes even how well they work as part of a team, the case interview can be a grueling experience.
For educational and research purposes only.

ARTICLES & WEBSITES
Bradley CVs Interviewing Advice: Includes a list of example interview questions for the interviewer and interviewee. Contains helpful information on interviewing techniques including group interview testing and panel interviewing.
Interview: Seizing the opportunity and the job by the US Department of Labor
more...less...
http://www.bls.gov/oco/oco20045.htm
Interview Trips Up Job Candidates. (2014). USA Today Magazine, 142(2828), 6-7
Jenkins, R. (2010). How to Stand Out in Your Interview. Chronicle Of Higher Education, 56(23), A38-A39.
Job Interview Net Includes interview questions, answers and tips.
Monster Interview Center Includes simulation of virtual interviews, sample questions and answers.
Pitsker, K. (2014). How to Ace Today's Job Interview. Kiplinger's Personal Finance, 68(6), 14

Business Etiquette

The essential guide to business etiquette by Chaney, Lillian H.
Global Business Etiquette by Jeanette S. Martin; Lillian H. Chaney
ISBN: 9780313397189
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
The etiquette edge the unspoken rules for business success by Langford, Beverly Y.
Prentice-Hall complete business etiquette handbook by Pachter, Barbara
Call Number: HF 5389 .P33
The little black book of business etiquette by Thomsett, Michael C.
Call Number: HF 5389 .T48
Other similar print books available at HBLL 1st floor south - HF 5389