Skip to main content

Ancient Studies: Latin

Latin Language in Ancient Studies

One of the chief languages represented in the Ancient Studies Collection is Latin, including Classical, Early Christian ("Vulgar Latin") and Medieval Latin. Neo-Latin (Renaissance and forward) is excluded, but is collected in the main collections of the Lee Library.

For an overview of library resources and research methodology for Latin, please see the Classical Studies library guide. This section of the Ancient Studies guide will outline resources for Latin found in Ancient Studies.

All Call Numbers are in the Ancient Studies Room. Click on to access the BYU Catalog description of the book.

Latin Language Dictionaries

Blaise, A. Lexicon latinitatis Medii Aevi. Turnhout, 1975.
BR 60 .C47x Suppl.1

Du Cange, C. Glossarium mediae et infimae latinitatis. Graz, 1954. 10 vol.
PA 2889 .D8 1954

Ernout, A. Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue latine. Paris, 1967.
PA 2342 .E7 1967

Forcellini, E. Lexicon totius latinitatis. Bonn, 1965. 6 vol.
QUARTO PA 2364 .F6 1965

Glare, P.G.W. Oxford Latin dictionary. Oxford, 1982.
QUARTO PA 2365 .E5 O9 1982

Glossaria Latina. Hildesheim, 1965. 5 vol.
PA 2355 .A3 1965

Harvey, A. The non-Classical lexicon of Celtic latinity. Turnhout, 2005-
PA 2891 .H37 2005

Latham, R.E. Dictionary of medieval Latin from British sources. London, 1975-
QUARTO PA 2891 .L28

Lewis, C.T. and C. Short. A Latin dictionary. Oxford, 1879.
PA 2365 .E5 A7 1879

Lexikon der lateinischen Lehnwörter in den griechischsprachigen dokumentarischen Texten Ägyptens. Wien, 1996-
PA 425 .L49x 1996

Marangoni, C. Supplementum etymologicum Latinum. Trieste, 2007-
PA 2342 .M37 2007

Mittellateinisches Wörterbuch bis zum ausgehenden 13. Jahrhundert. Munich, 1959-
PA 2893 .G3 M48 1959

Niermeyer, J.F. Mediae Latinitatis lexicon minus = Medieval Latin dictionary. 2 vol. Leiden, 2002.
PA 2890 .N54 2002

Novum glossarium mediae Latinitatis. Copenhagen, 1957-
QUARTO PA 2893 .F7 N6

Souter, A. A glossary of later Latin to 600 A.D. Oxford, 1964.
PA 2308 .S6 1964

Supplementum et index lexicorum eroticorum linguae Latinae. Bologna, 1970
PA 2387 .P528 1970

Thesaurus linguae Latinae. Leipzig, 1900-
QUARTO PA 2361 .T4

Vaan, M.A.C. de. Etymological dictionary of Latin and the other Italic languages. Leiden, 2008.
PA 2518 .V33 2008

Walde, A. Lateinisches etymologisches Wörterbuch. Heidelberg, 1964-1965.
PA 2342 .W2 1965

Latin Grammars and Language Studies

Hofmann, J.B. Lateinische syntax und Stilistik. Munich, 1965.
PA 25 .H24 Abt.2 T.2 Bd.2 1965

Leumann, M. Lateinische Laut-und Formenlehre. Munich, 1977.
PA 25 .H24 Abt.2 T.2 Bd.1 1977

Lindsay, W.M. A short historical Latin grammar. Oxford, 1915.
PA 2071 .L65

Meillet, A. Traité de grammaire comparée des langues classiques. Paris, 1966.
PA 111 .M45 1966

Raven, D.S. Latin metre. London, 1965.
PA 2329 .R3

Stolz, F. Lateinische Grammatik. Munich, 1900.
PA 25 .H24 Abt.2 T.2 1900

Stolz, P. Handbuch zur lateinischen Sprache des Mittelalters. Munich, 1996-2004.
PA 25 .H24 Abt.2 T.5 Bd.5

Dictionaries and Indexes of Latin Authors

General

Clément, J.-M. Initia patrum latinorum. Series altera. Turnhout, 1970.
BR 60 .C49 Index

Dekkers, E. Clavis patrum Latinorum. Steenbrugge, 1995.
BR 60 .C49a 1995

Pichon, R. Index verborum amatoriorum. Hildesheim, 1966.
PA 2387 .P43 1966

Quicherat, L. Thesaurus poeticus linguae latinae. Hildesheim, 1967.
PA 2333 .Q6 1967

Schaller, D. Initia carminum Latinorum saeculo undecimo antiquiorum. Göttingen, 1977.
PA 31 .S3

Vatasso, M. Initia patrum aliorumque scriptorum ecclesiastcorum latinorum ex Mignei Patrologia. Rome, 1906-1908.
BR 67 .V3

See also the series Corpus Christianorum. Thesaurus patrum Latinorum


Ambrose, Saint, Bishop of Milan

Wortindex zu den Schriften des Hl. Ambrosius. Wien, 1979.
BR 60 .C6 Suppl. Heft 4

Augustine, Saint, Bishop of Hippo

Vorarbeiten zu einem Augustinus-Lexikon. Wien, 1973-
BR 60 .C6 Suppl.

Ammianus Marcellinus

Viansino, G. Ammiani Marcellini rerum gestarum lexicon. Hildesheim, 1985. 2 vol.
PA 6205 .Z8 1985

Caesar, Julius

Lecrompe, R. César, De bello Gallico: index verborum. Hildesheim, 1968.
PA 6269 .Z8 L4 1968

Merguet, H. Lexikon zu den Schriften Cäsars und seiner Fortsetzer. Hildesheim, 1963.
PA 6269 .Z8 M43 1963

Cicero, Marcus Tullius

Abbot, K.M. Index verborum in Ciceronis Rhetorica. Urbana, 1964
PA 6366 .A2 1964

Merguet, H. Lexikon zu den Schriften Cicero's. Hildesheim, 1961-1962. 7 vol.
PA 6366 .M47 1961

Orelli, J.K. von. Onomasticon Tullianum. Hildesheim, 1965. 3 vol.
PA 6366 .O7 1965

Spaeth, J.W. Index verborum Ciceronis poeticorum fragmentorum. Urbana, 1955.
PA 6305 .P5 S6 1955

Curtius Rufus, Quintus

Eichert, O. Vollständiges Wörterbuch zu dem Geschichtswerke des Quintus Curtius Rufus über die Taten Alexanders des Grossen. Hildesheim, 1967.
PA 6378 .E4 1967

Fronto, Marcus Cornelius

Fontanella, R. Index verborum mit statistischen Aufstellungen zu ... M.C. Fronto. Hildesheim, 1981.
PA 6389 .F7 F66 1981

Horace

Bo, D. Lexicon Horatianum. Hildesheim, 1965-1966. 2 vol.
PA 6444 .B6 1965

Justinus, Marcus Junianus

Eichert, O. Vollständiges Wörterbuch zur philippischen Geschichte des Justinus. Hildesheim, 1967.
PA 6445 .J8 E35 1967

Juvenal

Kelling, L. Index verborum Iuvenalis. Chapel Hill, 1951.

Livy

Ernesti, A.W. Glossarium Livianum. Hildesheim, 1966.
PA 6475 .Z8 1966

Lucilius, Gaius

Berkowitz, L. Index Lucilianus. Hildesheim, 1968.
PA 6481 .L6 A813 1968

Nonnus

Peek, W. et al. Lexikon zu den Dionysiaka des Nonnos. Hildesheim, 1968-1975. 4 vol.
PA 4251 .A325 1968

Persius

Berkowitz, L. Index verborum quae in Saturis Auli Persi Flacci reperiuntur. Hildesheim, 1967.
PA 6556 .B4 1967

Bo, D. Auli Persii Flacci lexicon. Hildesheim, 1967.
PA 6556 .B6 1967

Petronius Arbiter

Segebade, J. Lexicon Petronianum. Hildesheim, 1962
PA 6561 .Z8 1962

Philo, of Alexandria (Latin citations)

Philon d'Alexandrie (Biblia patristica. Supplément). Paris, 1982
BR 66.5 .B53 1982

Plautus

Maniet, A. Plaute, Amphitryon: index verborum, lexiques inverses, relevés lexicaux et grammaticaux. Hildesheim, 1970.
PA 6609 .Z8 M34 1970

Pliny, the Elder

Schneider, O. In C. Plini Secundi Naturalis historiae libros indices. Hildesheim, 1967.
PA 6637 .Z8 1857a

Pliny, the Younger

Jacques, X. Index de Pline le Jeune. Namur, 1965.
PA 6640 .Z8 1965

Quintilian

Bonnell, E. Lexicon Quintilianeum. Hildesheim, 1962.
PA 6651 .B6 1962

Sallust

Bennett, A.W. Index verborum Sallustianus. Hildesheim, 1970.
PA 6656 .Z8 1970

Eichert, O. Vollständiges Wörterbuch zu den Geschichtswerken des Gaius Sallustius Crispus. Hildesheim, 1973.
PA 6656 .Z8 1973

Skard, E. Index verborum quae exhibent Sallustii Epistulae ad Caesarem. Oslo, 1968.
PA 6653 .Z6 S53 1968

Seneca, the Younger

Oldfather, W.A. Index verborum quae in Senecae fabulis necnon in Octavia praetexta reperiuntur. Hildesheim, 1964.
PA 6685 .Z8 O43 1964

Statius

Defarrari, R.J. A concordance of Statius. Hildesheim, 1966.
PA 6698 .Z8 1966

Suetonius

Howard, A.A. Index verborum C. Suetoni Tranquilli. Cambridge, 1922.
PA 6702 .Z8 1922

Tacitus, Cornelius

Fabia, P. Onomasticon Taciteum. Hildesheim, 1964.
PA 6753 .F33 1964

Gerber, A. Lexicon Taciteum. Hildesheim, 1962. 2 vol.
PA 6753 .G4 1962

Terence

McGlynn, P. Lexicon Terentianum. London, 1963-1967. 2 vol.
PA 6785 .M3 1963

Tertullian

Claesson, G. Index Tertullianeus. Paris, 1974-1975. 3 vol.
BR 65 .T3 Z5 1974

Valerius Flaccus, Gaius

Schulte, W.H. Index verborum Valerianus. Hildesheim, 1965.
PA 6791 .V5 S35 1965

Virgil

Enciclopedia virgiliana. Roma, 1984-1991. 5 vol.
PA 6825 .A3 1996

Marguet, H. Lexikon zu Vergilius. Hildesheim, 1969.
PA 6952 .M4 1969