Skip to main content

Ancient Studies: Greek New Testament Research

Finding Books

From the Library home page, http://www.lib.byu.edu/, click “Library Catalog.” There are two types of searches available, keyword and alphabetic. Because Bible-related headings are somewhat complex, alphabetic searches work best in many cases. Bible headings conform to the following pattern:

Bible. [Division, e.g., O.T. or N.T.]. [Name of the book or section, including chapter number if appropriate]. [Further subdivisions, such as language, etc.]

For example:

Bible. N.T. John

Bible. N.T. Johannine literature

Type one of these heading strings into the box. Click the “alphabetic” radio button.

The Library catalog has been indexed in several ways. If you are interested in finding texts, choose “Title.” If you are interested in finding works about the texts, choose “Subject.” Some sample searches:

As a title

Bible. N.T. Revelation. Greek

Bible. N.T. German. Luther

Bible. N.T. Romans VIII, 17-39

Bible. N.T. Greek

As a subject

Bible. N.T. Luke I, 6--Sermons

Bible. N.T. Greek--Bibliography

Bible. N.T. Greek--Manuscripts

Commentaries

Anchor Bible and Anchor Yale Bible. The Anchor Bible (recently changed to the Anchor Yale Bible) is one of the most widely respected Bible commentaries. Each volume includes a new English translation of the text, along with extensive critical commentary. The Anchor Bible edition of John and the Johannine epistles, by Raymond E. Brown, is particularly well thought of.

Ancient Studies BS 192.2 .A1 1964 .G3

Also available in Ancient Studies and elsewhere is The International critical commentary on the Holy Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments.

Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture. This series brings together, in English translation, commentary by patristic Christian writers such as Augustine, Basil, Origen, or Ambrose. The series is housed in Relgion/Family History Reference (2nd floor). To find call numbers, do an alphabetic search in the Library’s catalog using “Ancient Christian commentary on Scripture” in the title search.

Finding Articles

To find articles you need to use article indexes. Although online article indexes exist in this field, some of the best remain print indexes. In all of these indexes, once you have found an article or book you want to consult, check the Library catalog for its availability.

Elenchus of Biblica (Roma : Pontificio Istituto biblico, c1988- ). This indexes year by year articles written about the Bible and biblical criticism. It is arranged by book of the Bible. Section XI is called “Corpus Johanneum”.

Ancient Studies, BS 410 .E52x.

International Review of Biblical Studies (Düsseldorf : Patmos Verlag, 1951- ). Note the section on New Testament exegesis.

Ancient Studies, BS 445 .X1 I57

L’Année Philologique. This is the most comprehensive index of classical studies, including both articles and books. It is available both in print and online.

Print: Ancient Studies, PA 29 .A55

Online: Go to the Classical Studies Guide (from the Library main page, choose “Classical Studies” from the dropdown menu under “Subject Guides”). Click on the Articles tab for the link to the database.

 

Unless you know specific keywords, the easiest way to access either the print or online version is to browse the section called “Religion chrétienne.” To do this in the online version, choose “Subjects and Disciplines” in the dropdown box next to “search” on the initial screen. Drill down to section VFd “religion chrétienne.” Or, perform a keyword search by choosing “Full text”. You can type in searches such as Gospel of John.

 

ATLA Religion Database. The leading religion database, leading to journal articles and chapters within books. The database is available from the Classical Studies Guide (click on the Articles tab). Use boolean (“John and wom?n”; “John and protestant*”) or phrase searches (“Gospel of John”). Some of the results have full text. For others, check the Library catalog for availability (click “Get it at BYU”).

Word and Language Studies

Texts

Novum Testamentum Graece (Nestle-Aland).
Ancient Studies BS 1965 2001 (earlier editions in stacks)

Synopsis Quattuor Evangeliorum (Stuttgart : Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft, 1985).
Lee Stacks BS 2560 .A2 A35 1985 (earlier ed. in Ancient Studies)

Concordances

Computer-Konkordanz : zum Novum Testamentum graece von Nestle-Aland, 26. Auflage, und zum Greek New Testament, 3rd edition (Berlin ; New York : De Gruyter, 1977- )
Ancient Studies QUARTO BS 2302 .V642

Analytical Concordance of the Greek New Testament (Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker, 1991)
Religion/Family History Reference BS 2302 .C535 1991

A Critical Concordance to the Gospel of John ([Wooster, Ohio] : Biblical Research Associates, 1994)
Lee stacks BS 421 .C64 vol.42 (in the series The Computer Bible, which contains concordances of other books of the Bible, all at BS 421 .C64)

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae.
Accessible through the Classical Studies Guide (click on the Websites, Images, Full Text, etc. tab).

Lexica

 

Arndt, W. A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature (Chicago : University of Chicago Press, c2000)
Ancient Studies PA 881 .B38 2000

Lampe, G. W. H., 1912-1980. A Patristic Greek Lexicon (Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1961)
Ancient Studies PA 681 .P3

Pershbacher, W.J. The New Analytical Greek Lexicon (Peabody, Mass.: Hendrickson, 1990)
Humanities Reference PA 881 .P54 1990

Alsop, John R. An Index to the Revised Bauer-Arndt-Gingrich Greek Lexicon, Second Edition, by F. Wilbur Gingrich and Frederick W. Danker (Grand Rapids, MI : Zondervan Pub. House, c1981)
Humanities Reference PA 881 .B38 1979 Suppl.

Dictionaries

Anchor Bible Dictionary. 6 v. (New York: Doubleday, 1992)
Ancient Studies Religion/Family History Reference, or Lee Stacks BS 440 .A54 1992.
A CD-ROM edition of this resource is available at the Religion/Family History reference desk.

Theologisches Wörterbuch zum Neuen Testament. 10 v. (Stuttgart : Kohlhammer, 1949-).
Lee Stacks BS 2312 .G4 K58x

Translated into English as Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. 10 v. (Grand Rapids, Mich. : Eerdmans, 1964-1976)
Ancient Studies PA 881 .K513 1964; or Relgion/Family History Reference BS 2312 .K58x 1985.

Exegetisches Wörterbuch zum Neuen Testament (Stuttgart : Kohlhammer, 1978- )
Ancient Studies BS 2312 .E9

Translated into English as Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament (Grand Rapids, Mich. : Eerdmans, 1990-3)
Religion/Family History Reference BS 2312 .E913 1990