Subject Guides: Scandinavian Studies: Primary Sources

Scandinavian Primary Sources Online

Full-Text Historical Sources

EuroDocs
Includes Medieval primary historical documents in facsimile, transcription, or translation.

Holocaust Collection This link opens in a new window From primary documents of the National Archives and the US Holocaust Memorial Museum...

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Thousands of sources indexed by country, by time period, and by topic. From Fordham University.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook Internet Modern History Sourcebook is one of series of history primary sourcebooks. It is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern European history and American history, as well as in modern Western Civilization and World Cultures. Although this part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project began as a way to access texts that were already available on the Internet, it now contains hundreds of texts made available locally.

The Making of the Modern World (Gale) This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Making of the Modern World (Gale). "The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850" provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window MGH is a corpus of historical works, charters, legal texts, letters, political texts, and literature from the European Middle Ages.
Testaments to the Holocaust (Gale) This link opens in a new window Electronic holdings of the Wiener Library in London, England. These holdings also include publications of the Wiener Library. The collection includes Nazi propaganda materials; Hitler Youth materials; pamphlets, books; and a rare encyclopedia of anti-Semitism. The core of the collection is 1,200 eyewitness accounts dealing with the pogrom of 1938 through the scope of the Holocaust. Also included are photographic materials.
U.S. Intelligence on Europe, 1945-1995 (Brill) This link opens in a new window

World War I Document Archive
World War I document archive of primary documents from World War I has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). The archive is international in focus and intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.

Scandinavian Literary Sources & Concordances

Online Literary Works

Corvey Collection of European Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO): European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection includes the full-text of more than 9,500 English, French and German titles. The collection is sourced from the remarkable library of Victor Amadeus, whose Castle Corvey collection was one of the most spectacular discoveries of the late 1970s. The Corvey Collection comprises one of the most important collections of Romantic era writing in existence anywhere including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more with a focus on especially difficult-to-find works by lesser-known, historically neglected writers.

DScriptorium
Project Runeberg Over 300 works of Nordic literature on the Internet. These include vernacular texts in Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Icelandic and Swedish, with the preponderance in Swedish.

Concordances, Literary Editions & Corpora

- Concordance to Eddic Poetry
  Hum Ref PT 7235 .K45

Primary Sources in English Translation

The Thirty Years War: A Sourcebook by Peter H. Wilson
Call Number: D 251 .T46 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Includes sections on the role played by Sweden.
The Essential Thirty Years War: A Documentary History
Publication Date: 2015 (eBook)
The Västgöta Laws by Thomas Lindkvist (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021 (eBook)
Translation of the oldest of the Swedish provincial law codes and other texts of great relevance to the legal history. With an Introduction that places the province of Västergötland and its law into its political setting,
Scandinavia, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, 1319-1974 by Robert I. Vexler
Call Number: DL 46 .V49
Publication Date: 1977
A chronology of events in Scandinavian history accompanied by a selection of pertinent documents.

Snorri Sturluson (1179?–1241)

Prose Edda The link will take you to the 2005 Penguin edition. This link will take you to other English translations.
Heimskiringla. The link will take you to the catalog entry for varrious English translations of Sturluson's history of the Norwegian kings, starting with legendary kings and continuing through to the reign of King Magnus Erlingsson.

Saga of Volsungs: The Norse Epic of Sigurd the Dragon Slayer (1990). Icelandic epic that tells of love, jealousy, vengeance, war, and the mythic deeds. Click link to view eBook and many other physical copies.

Primary Source Search

You can locate records for primary sources within the HBLL catalog by using the specific keyword "sources" within the "subject" field.

By combining that word with other relevant terms elsewhere, e.g., "Vikings" you can can find relevant primary sources lurking in the Harold B. Lee Library.

These may include diaries, manuscripts, transcriptions, translations and other items considered to be primary sources.

Local Projects

EuroDocs:Online Sources for European History and the related World War I Document Archive are two local projects designed to help you locate online primary sources on European history and on the Great War, respectively.

They provide transcriptions, facsimiles and translations of documents, along with occasional streaming video or audio.

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu