Permitted educational use means: preparation of coursework including lectures, notes, seminars, essays, dissertations and theses, which will be used or presented within the context of the courses or educational teaching offered by the institution. Specifically excluded are: Any display or exposure of images which will be made available to anyone who is not an â€˜Authorised End Userâ€™. Selling or licensing coursework including the images outside the institution without paying the appropriate fee. (This means that; papers, dissertations, theses, lectures, coursework, presentations which are used or presented to persons outside the institution you belong to are excluded.)
(1) classroom instruction and related activities, (2) student assignments, (3) public display or public performance in a museum, gallery or similar facility, including use in exhibit labels and other components of the exhibit, (4) public display or public performance as part of a professional presentation at a seminar, conference, or workshop, or other such similar professional activity; (5) use in a student or faculty portfolio, including non-public, display thereof, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice in the field; and (6) use in a dissertation, including reproductions of the dissertation for personal use and library deposit, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice in the field.
Access to and use of the Art Museum Image Gallery under this Agreement for any and all purposes other than education, research and scholarship is prohibited. More specifically, without express authorization from the copyright holder, the Subscriber and Licensed Users are strictly prohibited from: (1) publishing any Art Museum Image Gallery work in any medium or format, (2) redistributing any Art Museum Image Gallery work by any means beyond the Licensed User community, and (3) storing any Art Museum Image Gallery work, in whole or in part, beyond the term of this Agreement, unless expressly permitted. In no event may a Subscriber or its Licensed Users use any Art Museum Image Gallery work, or any adaptation thereof, in a commercial or business related manner. The Subscriber, or persons acting on behalf of the Subscriber, is prohibited from using any Art Museum Image Gallery work for fund-raising, marketing promotion, or public relations.
Any and all publicly displayed Art Museum Image Gallery work must reference: (1) any required copyright management information, such as the name of the creator of the work, the name and other identifying information of the copyright owner, terms and conditions for the uses of the work, and such other information as may be required by the rights holders, (2) minimum identifying documentation of the work of art and (3) an acknowledgment of the ART Participant contributing the multimedia documentation to The Art Museum Image Gallery, except where such an acknowledgment clearly would compromise an educational objective (such as examination).
In no event may a Licensed User: (1) reproduce or distribute any adaptation of an Art Museum Image Gallery work, in whole or in part; (2) publish any adaptation of an Art Museum Image Gallery work, in whole or in part, in any medium or by any means, or (3) redistribute any adaptation of an Art Museum Image Gallery work, outside the Licensed User community specified in this Agreement, in whole or in part, by any means.
Retention of Adaptations
Upon termination of its Subscription Licensed Users may not retain any adaptation of an Art Museum Image Gallery work, in whole or in part, after the termination of this Agreement (with the exception of uses in student assignments and for faculty or student portfolios).
In addition to any other notices required under this Agreement, any adaptation of Art Museum Image Gallery works, in whole or in part, must: (1) clearly identify all changes in the image and/or related documentation, and (2) provide citations or direct links to the unadapted Art Museum Image Gallery work.
Art.sy is a free platform to art from all over the world, a growing collection of 21,000+ artworks from leading galleries, museums, private collections, foundations, and artists' estates worldwide. Powered by the Art Genome Project, the "Pandora" of the art world!
Resource of art history images primarily for students and teachers. Browse by artist or take a guided tour. Virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts from the 8th to 19th centuries, focusing on Renaissance art, but including its Medieval roots as well as its evolution to Baroque and Rococo via Mannerism.
Picturing Places showcases works of art by well-known artists such as Thomas Gainsborough and J.M.W. Turner alongside images by a multitude of lesser-known figures. Only a few have ever been seen or published before.
Portal to millions of items from Europe's cultural collections in galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, etc. Contains images, texts, sound, and videos.
Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur contains approximately 2 million photographic reproductions of art and monuments in Germany and the rest of Europe. It is based on Marburger Index, a microfiche compilation of 1.4 million images. The HBLL has the microfiche set.
What is ARTstor?
Interdisciplinary collection of over
2.5 million images.
NOTE: You must register for an individual user account in Artstor to fully use its features.