Subject Guides: Theatre: Reviews

Theatre Reviews

New York Times Archive (1851-2006) This link opens in a new window A ProQuest Historical Newspaper, the New York Times Archive (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Search the archives of historical newspapers from around the United States. Coverage dates back to 1786.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Research Library (ProQuest). This multi-disciplinary database includes more than 4,050 titles - nearly 2,800 in full text - from 1971 forward.
19th Century U.S. Newspaper Digital Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window Approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century United States. This database has full-text searching capability, and it displays images from numerous newspapers from urban and rural areas.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale) This link opens in a new window Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper, 1785-1985, is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

Print Sources for Reviews

Comtois and Miller. Contemporary American Theatre Critics: a Directory and Anthology of Their Works. 1977. Who, what, where, and how of American theatre critics. Also includes a bibliography on American theatre criticism, 1900-1976.
HUM REF PN 1707.9 .C6

Marks. American Literary and Drama Review: an Index to Late Nineteenth Century Periodicals. 1984. Indexes 13 magazines from 1800 to 1900. HUM REF PN 2256 .M37 1984

New York Times Theater Reviews, 1920-1994. 10 vols. + Bi-annual updates. A compilation of the reviews published in the New York Times. HUM REF PN 1581 .N4 (Index Table)

New York Theatre Critics' Reviews. 1969-present. Weekly reprinting of theatre reviews published in magazines and in New York newspapers. In 1996, title changed to: National Theatre Critics' Reviews, appearing semi-monthly. HUM REF PN 1601 .N76 (Index Table)

Salem. A Guide to Critical Reviews. 1967. Covers American drama, musicals, motion pictures, and English and Continental drama. HUM REF PN 1994 .X1 S341 (1966-1971) 4 vols. in 5.
------. 2nd ed. 1973. HUM REF PN 1994 .X1 S341 1973 (4 pts.)
------. 3rd ed. 1984- HUM REF PN 2266 .X1 S24 1984 (2 vols.) Reviews for 1909-1982.

Slide. Selected Theatre Criticism. 3 vols. Reviews from1900-1950. HUM REF PN 2277 .N5 S44 1985

Stanley. Broadway in the West End: An Index of Reviews of American Theatre in London, 1950-1975. 1978.
HUM REF PN 2596 .L6 S77

Performing Arts Librarian

Myrna Layton

Email Me

Contact:

4431 HBLL

Phone or Text 801-422-4334

Subjects: Music & Dance, Theatre

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

Bibliography Managers

Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.