Subject Guides: Theatre: Plays & Monologues

Finding Plays / Scripts

Search the library catalog by title and author.
In Books/E-books search click on down arrow in search box and search by Title and Author. Ex. Title: Chapter two | Author: Simon
Plays Transferred from the Theatre and Media Arts Script Library (Catalog Search Results)
TMA Script Library Scripts (Spreadsheet Listing)
Plays transferred from the TMA Script library searchable by title, author and call number.

Play Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Play Index includes 40,000 plays published 1949 to the present. An invaluable aid to finding the perfect plays to match your production resources, Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type; and more. *The record for each play provides: *Title and author of the play. *Descriptive annotation that summarizes the plot or dramatic action. *Number of acts and scenes. *Size and gender of the cast. *Number of sets, noting whether they are interior or exterior. *Notes on any dancing or music required. *Identification of plays suitable for children and young people.

Script Finder

If you are looking for scripts for MUSICALS, these are shelved together at ML 50 on level four. (They are filed by COMPOSER even though they are scripts, which is perhaps unexpected.)

Monologues

Most monologues are located in the "Monologues" shelf, in the Humanities Reference shelves on level 5: classic monologues for men, women, children, young adults, monologues from film scenes, shakespeare and classical audition speeches.. For specific location, ask at the Humanities Help Desk. For additional sources, check also in the regular stacks, under the same call numbers.

You can also search the library's catalog using any of the following subject headings: monologues, dramatic monologues, monodramas, humorous poetry english, humorous recitations, dialogues acting--auditions, one-act plays, american.

Monologs from Musicals
Monologs from Plays
Free monologues to download
Monologues by Kamron Klitgaard.

Full Text Plays

LitFinder (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Drama Online This link opens in a new window Complete digital library of the most studied and performed plays from the last 2,500 years. Contains scholarly notes, annotated texts, contextual information, synopsis, biographical entries, and material on acting, directing, and lighting. Features drama titles from the Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare lists, and the LA Theatre Works. Includes epics, monologues, and one-person plays in all time periods, as well as translations of major foreign works. Features play tools with character grids, words and speech graphs, and over 500 images.
Twentieth Century North American Drama (ASP) This link opens in a new window Twentieth Century North American Drama contains more than 1,500 plays from the United States and Canada. We are aiming for the complete works of the major North American playwrights. Alongside the works of the most successful writers of the century are the lesser-known but important works of African Americans, Asian Americans, gay and lesbian writers, and others. Hundreds of unpublished plays, production information, playbills, and theatre details round out the collection.
Black Drama (ASP) This link opens in a new window Black Drama from Alexander Street Press contains approximately 1200 plays by 215 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 440 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of James V. Hatch, co-author with Errol G. Hill of A History of African American Theatre and a leading expert in this area. Black Drama uses PhiloLogic software, developed at the University of Chicago, to enable in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.
North American Women's Drama (ASP) This link opens in a new window This edition of Women's American Drama contains 235 plays by 67 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the assistance of our editorial board. Women's American Drama uses PhiloLogic software, developed at the University of Chicago, to enable in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Audio & Video

Theatre in Video (ASP) This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video contains more than 200 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 150 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 400 hours in all. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Awake and Sing, Krapp's Last Tape, and several works of Shakespeare. Notable actors include Claire Bloom, Colleen Dewhurst, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep and more.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection (ASP) This link opens in a new window
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection from Alexander Street Press delivers, for the first time online, more than 300 important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.

Shakespeare Audio Plays
more...less...
Fully dramatised, unabridged audio recordings of each of Shakespeare's 38 plays. Each play is recorded by noted actors, many of whom were trained at the Royal Shakespeare Company, such as Simon Russell Beale, Joseph Fiennes, David Tennant, Niamh Cusack and Sir John Gielgud and includes sound effects and music to bring the plays further to life.

Plays are listed alphabetically by title; to jump to a particular play, click the corresponding letter below. Clicking on the title of a play will bring you to the individual audio play's page from which you will be able to view and select individual scenes to access. Links to the multiple editions of Shakespeare's plays have been included and in order to let you select the edition to read the link to Full Text will open a results page displaying all available editions. Though the audio recordings were not created using any of the editions available in Full Text, the 19th Century Cambridge University Press edition is the closest textually to the modern edition used.

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

Theatre: Plays & Monologues

New!

Finding Plays / Scripts

Monologues

Full Text Plays

Audio & Video

Get Help