Click on ♦ to access the BYU Catalog description of the book.
Association Internationale de Papyrologues. Guidelines for Editing Papyri
Guidelines for implementing the Leiden system of signs and other modern papyrological practices. The purpose of these Guidelines is to propose precise norms for editing Greek/Latin, Demotic and Coptic papyri. It also proposes new rules for rendering certain data not taken into account by the Leiden system and for which a uniform treatment would facilitate systematic study.
♦ Bagnall, Roger S., ed. The Oxford Handbook of Papyrology. Oxford, 2009.
Ancient Studies Z 110 .P36 O98 2009
♦ Bagnall, Roger S., Reading Papyri, Writing Ancient History, London, 1995.
Lee Stacks D 56 .B34 1994
Electronic copy from University of Michigan Digital Library
♦ Boswinkel, Ernst and P.J. Sijpesteijn. Greek Papyri, Ostraca and Mummy Labels. Amsterdam, 1968.
Ancient Studies Quarto PA 3300 .A1 .B6 1968
♦ Gallo, Italo. Greek and Latin Papyrology.
Ancient Studies Z 6605 .G7 G36x 1986
♦ Harrauer, Hermann. Handbuch der griechischen Paläographie. Stuttgart, 2010. 2 volumes.
Ancient Studies Z 113.8 .H37 2010
Hohlwein, Nicolas. La Papyrologie Grecque, Bibliographie raisonée. Louvain, 1905.
Copy in Google Books.
♦ Lewis, Naphtali. Papyrology. Cambridge, 1985.
Lee Stacks PA 25 .Y3 vol.28
♦ McIlwaine, I.C. Herculaneum : a guide to printed sources. Napoli, 1988.
Ancient Studies DG 70 .H5 X6 1988 vol. 1-2
♦ McIlwaine, I.C. Herculaneum : a guide to sources, 1980-2007. Napoli, 2009.
Ancient Studies DG 70 .H5 X65 2009
♦ McNamee, Kathleen. Annotations in Greek and Latin Texts from Egypt. New Haven, 2007.
Lee Stacks PA 3343 .M39 2007
♦ McNamee, Kathleen. Sigla and Select Marginalia in Greek Literary Papyri. Bruxelles, 1992.
Ancient Studies PA 3343 .M4 1992
♦ Mitteis, Ludwig and Ulrich Wilcken, Grundzüge und Chrestomathie der Papyruskunde. Hildesheim, 1963. 4 vol.
Ancient Studies PA 3341 .G7 1963
♦ Montevecchi, Orsolina. La Papirologia. Milano, 1988.
Ancient Studies PA 3341 .M6 1988
♦ Pestman, P.W. The New Papyrological Primer, 2nd ed. Leiden, 1994.
Ancient Studies PA 3316 .P4x 1994
♦ Reggiani, Nicola. Papirologia : la cultura scrittoria dell'Egitto greco-romano. Parma, 2019.
Lee Stacks Z 110 .P36 R44 2019
Schubart, W. Einführung in die Papyruskunde. Berlin 1918.
Copy in Internet Archive.
♦ Seider, Richard. Paläographie der griechischen Papyri. Bd. I Urkunden, Bd. II Literarische Papyri, Bd. III Text, pt. 1 Urkundenschrift. Stuttgart 1967, 1970, 1990.
Ancient Studies Z 113.8 .S4 1967
♦ Seider, Richard. Paläographie der lateinischen Papyri. Bd. I Urkunden, Bd. II.1 Literarische Papyri. Texte klassischer Autoren, Bd. II.2 Literarische Papyri. Juristische und christliche Texte. Stuttgart 1972-1981.
Ancient Studies Z 114 .S38 1972
♦ Turner, E.G. Greek Papyri, an Introduction. Oxford, 1980.
Conservation Lab Z 6605 .G7 T8 1990
♦ Turner, E.G. The Papyrologist at Work. Durham, N.C., 1973.
Conservation Lab Z114 .T8x 1973
♦ Youtie, H.C. The Textual Criticism of Documentary Papyri: Prolegomena, 2nd ed. London, 1974
Lee Stacks PA 25 .L8 Suppl. no.33
This section includes Demotic and Coptic dictionaries, and Greek and Latin language dictionaries geared toward papyrology. For general Greek and Latin dictionaries, see the Classical Studies Guide.
Click on ♦ to access the BYU Catalog description of the book.
The Chicago Demotic Dictionary
Ongoing project of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago.
♦ Cervenka-Ehrenstrasser, Irene-Maria. Lexikon der lateinischen Lehnwörter in den griechischsprachigen dokumentarischen Texten Ägyptens mit Berücksichtigung koptischer Quellen. Wien, 1996-
Ancient Studies PA 425 .L49x 1996
♦ Crum, W.E. Coptic Dictionary. Oxford, 1939.
Ancient Studies PJ 2181 .C7
♦ Erochsen, W. Demotisches Glossar. Kopenhagen, 1954.
Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1433 .E7
♦ Kasser, Rodlphe, Compléments au dictionnaire copte de Crum. Le Caire, 1964.
Ancient Studies PJ 2195 .B5 vol.7
♦ Kretschmer, Paul. Rücklaüfiges Wörterbuch der griechischen Sprache. Göttingen, 1963.
Ancient Studies PA 459 .K74x 1963
♦ Westendorf, Wolfhart. Koptisches Handwörterbuch. Heidelberg, 1965-1997
Ancient Studies PJ 2181 .W46
Click on ♦ to access the BYU Catalog description of the book.
Site dedicated to the study of ancient papyrological documents. Includes an ever-expanding index to papyrological publications under search:data (searches the texts of the papyri) and search: bibliography (searches the texts of the publications).
1949-present. Indexes books and periodical articles as well as articles in collections and conference papers in all areas of classics and classical studies including papyrology (L'Année Philologique section IVD) and epigraphy (L'Année Philologique section IVB).
Also available in print: Ancient Studies PA 29 .A55.
♦ Attiya, Aziz S., ed. The Coptic Encyclopedia. New York, 1991.
Religion/Family History Reference BX 130.5 .C66 1991
♦ Berichtigungsliste der griechischen Papyrusurkunden aus Ägypten. Berlin, etc., 1913 [i.e. 1922]- . 13+ volumes. Lists reeditions of and corrections to published papyri.
Ancient Studies PA 3303 .B47 1913. Library has Bd. 1, 3-12
PDF file of Bd. 13 available here.
♦ Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3303 .B47 1913. Library has Bd. 1-4
Concordances to Berichtigungsliste 1-11 are at
Ancient Studies PA 3303 .B47 1913 Index Bd.1-7
Ancient Studies PA 3303 .B47 1913 Index Bd.8-11
This volume also includes a CD-ROM containing the contents of Berichtigungsliste 1-11
Bibliographie Papyrologique en ligne
Index to periodical literature about papyrology. Hosted by Association Egyptologique Reine Elisabeth.
♦ Buck, Carl Darling, & Walter Petersen. A reverse index of Greek nouns and adjectives, arranged by terminations with brief historical introduction. Hildesheim, 1970 (reprint of Chicago, 1945)
Ancient Studies PA 459 .B8 1970
Bulletin of Online Emendations to Papyri (BOEP)
Listing of emendations to readings in previously-published papyri. Keyed to the Checklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca and Tablets. Updated periodically.
Catalogue of Paraliterary Papyri
Descriptions of Greek papyri which, because of their paraliterary character, cannot be found in the standard databases of literary and documentary papyri.
♦ Commentaria et lexica graeca in papyris reperta (CLGP). Berlin, 2009-
Ancient Studies PA 3301 .C66 2009
♦ Graeco-Roman Archives from the Fayum. Ed. K. Vandorpe, W. Clarysse, H. Verreth. Leuven, 2015.
Ancient Studies CD 2337.5 .F39 V36 2015
Leuven Database of Ancient Books
Database collecting basic information on all ancient literary texts, including texts on papyri.
♦ Lexikon der Ägyptologie. Wiesbaden, 1975-
Ancient Studies PA 1031 .H4
The Mertens-Pack³ database project
Index of literary papyri. Based om R.A. Pack’s The Greek and Latin Literary Texts from Greco-Roman Egypt (Ann Arbor: Univ. of Michigan Press, 1952; revised 1965).
♦ Preisigke, Friedrich. Fachwörter des öffentlichen Verwaltungsdienstes Ägyptens in der griechischen Papyrusurkunden der ptolemäisch-römischen Zeit. Göttingen, 1915.
Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 455 .P8 P74 1915
♦ Copy in Internet Archive
♦ Preisigke, Friedrich. Wörterbuch der Griechischen Papyrusurkunden mit Einschluss der Griechischen Inschriften, Aufschriften, Ostraka, Mumienschilder usw. aus Ägypten. Berlin, 1925-<2000>. 4 vol. + 3 supplements.
In addition to defining terms, this resource tracks usage in the papyri and is thus a partial index to the corpus.
Ancient Studies PA 3369 .P75
♦ Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3369 .P75 (v.1-3 only)
Prosopographia Ptolemaica, 1950-
X. Foreign Ethnics in Hellenistic Egypt, ed. C. A. La'da. 2002.
On order for Ancient Studies
♦ Till, W.C., ed. Datierung und Prosopographie der koptischen Urkunden aus Theben. Wien, 1962.
Lee Stacks AS 142 .V31 Bd.240 Abh.1
♦ Timm, Stefan. Das christlich-koptische Ägypten in arabischer Zeit: Eine Sammlung christlicher Stätten in Ägypten in arabischer Zeit unter Ausschluss von Alexandria, Kairo, des Apa-Mena-Klosters (Der Abu Mina), der Sketis (Wadi n-Natrun) und der Sinai-Region. Wiesbaden 1984-2007. 7 vol.
Lee Stacks DT 72 .C7 T56 1984
WörterListen aus den Registern von Publikationen griechischer und lateinischer dokumentarischer Papyri und Ostraka by Dieter Hagedorn und Klaus Maresch of the University of Cologne
WörterListen from the Zentrum für Altertumswissenschaften
Word lists from recent publications of papyri and ostraca, including reverse indexes.
Click on ♦ to access the BYU Catalog description of the book.
♦ Bureth, Paul. Les Titulatures impériales dans les papyrus, les ostraca et les inscriptions d’Égypte (30 a.C.—284 p.C.). Bruxelles, 1964.
Ancient Studies PA 3367 .B87 1964
♦ Calderini, Aristide. Dizionario dei nomi geografici e topografici dell’Egitto greco-romano. Milano, 1966-1988.5 vol. + Suppl.
Ancient Studies Quarto DT 45 .C3 1972
♦ Dornseiff, Franz. Reverse Lexicon of Greek Proper Names = Rücklaüfiges Wörterbuch der griechischen Eigennamen. Chicago, 1978.
Lee Stacks PA 423 .D67x 1978
Hasitzka, Monika. Namen in koptischen dokumentarischen Texten. 2007.
♦ Lexonyme : dictionnaire étymologique et sémantique des anthroponymes grecs antiques, ed. S. Minon. Geneva, 2023-
Lee Stacks CS 2349 .L49 2023
♦ Lüddeckens, E. and H.J. Thissen. Demotisches Namenbuch. Wiesbaden, 1980-2000.
Ancient Studies PJ 1107 .D45x vol.1
♦ Pape, Wilhelm. Wörterbuch der griechischen Eigennamen. Graz, 1959. 2 vol.
Ancient Studies PA 449 .P3 1959
♦ Preisigke, Friedrich. Namenbuch enthaltend alle griechischen, lateinischen, ägyptischen, hebräischen, arabischen und sonstigen semitischen und nichtsemitischen Menschennamen, soweit sie in griechischen Urkunden (Papyri, Ostraka, Inschriften, Mumienschildern usw) Ägyptens sich vorfinden. Heidelberg, 1922.
Ancient Studies PA 3369 .P7
♦ Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3369 .P7
♦ Supplement: Foraboschi, Daniele. Onomasticon alterum papyrologicum. Milan, 1967-1971. 4 vol.
Ancient Studies PA 3369 .F65
Database listing all known inhabitants of Egypt between 300 and 30 B.C. from Greek, Egyptian and Latin sources.
All the papyrological, epigraphic and legal evidence concerning illegitimate children in the Roman Empire up to the reign of Constantine the Great.
♦ Ronchi, Giulia. Lexicon theonymon rerumque sacrarum et divinarum ad Aegyptum pertinentium quae in papyris ostracis titulis Graecis Latinisque in Aegypto repertis laudantur. Milan, 1974-1977.
Ancient Studies BL 2443 .X1 R66
♦ Ruozzi Sala, Susanna Maria. Lexicon nominum Semiticorum quae in papyris Graecis in Aegypto repertis ab anno 323 a.Ch.n. usque ad annum 70 p.Ch.n. laudata reperiuntur. Milan, 1974.
Lee Stacks CS 2955 .R8