Subject Guides: Women's Literature: Books

Ways to Search For Books

BYU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Only available on-campus. Library catalog keyword search.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window Unified catalog of research libraries and public libraries throughout the world. Includes books, serials, sound recordings, data files, musical scores, and visual materials. Search using Library Catalog commands. Search for materials and order via interlibrary loan.

HBLL Library Catalog Search Tips

Keyword Searching: Searches everything in specified fields in the record (brings up a lot, but not always relevant material).

Advanced Searching: Allows you to customize your search to look for words in the title, subject field or elsewhere in the record individually or in combination.

Browse Alphabetically: This is the best way to find what the HBLL has about an author: simply choose to search by alphabetic subject and enter the author's last name, first name (for example "Gaskell, Elizabeth") and you'll get a list of subject terms about Gaskell: bibliographies, biographies, criticism and interpretation, etc. Also try searching by subject alphabetical for terms such as "Feminism," "Feminism and Literature ," "Feminist Theory," or "Women and Literature."

Truncation: In keyword searching, use the "$" to search for the variations on a root word: "poet$" will retrieve "poets," "poetry," "poetic," "poetics," etc.

Subject Links: When you're looking at a book record in the HBLL catalog, check the highlighted subject links, you may want to click on one to bring up other titles in the HBLL that deal with the same subject.

Call Number Browsing: When you find a book on your subject, click on the "Nearby Items On Shelf" link on the upper left of the record to see what other books are near it on the shelf.

Theses & Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window PQDT Global connects scholarship from 4,100 universities in over 60 countries, diverse voices, ideas, and perspectives can be viewed within a singular global context. : Each full text dissertation and thesis in PQDT is fully searchable providing an unparalleled resource for text and data mining analysis making connections that generate new insights.
Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU This link opens in a new window Electronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies
CRL's Foreign Dissertations Database (Advanced Search) This link opens in a new window Through this growing database, the Center for Research Libraries provides access to over 800,000 foreign doctoral dissertations from more than 90 countries and over 1200 institutions. Search by author, title, institution name, the year the dissertation was defended, language, subject/keywords, and/or translated title.

Book Reviews

Here are some sources for book reviews. Be sure to search in some of the subject specialized periodical indexes as well.

Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI) is a database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

Call Numbers

Women's literature, Women writers, Feminism, and Feminist literary theory are classified by the Library of Congress (LC) under various numbers - below are some browsing numbers for various Feminist studies:

Feminism HQ 1101-HQ 2030.7
Feminism and Art N 72 .F45
Feminism and Theater PN 1590 .W64
Feminism and Motion Pictures PN 1995.9 .W6
Feminism and Music ML 82
Feminist Theology BT 83.55
Feminist Therapy RC 489 .F45
Women as Critics/Feminist Criticism PN 98 .W64
Women's Literature, General PN 471 - PN 481
Women's Literature, British PR 111 - PR 119
Women's Literature, American PS 147 - PS 152

Bibliography Managers

Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.

RefWorks This link opens in a new window The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Zotero This link opens in a new window A free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.