Subject Guides: CLCV 241 Macfarlane: Home

Helpful Resources to Begin

Brill's New Pauly: The Reception of Myth and Mythology (Maria Moog-Grünewald, editor)
Electronic through Brill's New Pauly Online and in print at - Humanities Reference DE 5 .N513 Vol. 4
more...less...
Includes discussion about how new media, such as film, comics and advertising, have taken up the ancient mythological figures. 187 illustrations provide visual examples of this history.The articles discuss the ancient testimonies to a particular myth and pursue the theme through late antiquity and the Middle Ages into the early modern period and the (post)modern world. A bibliography at the end of each entry presents the current state of scholarship.The indices provide references firstly to other mythical figures, and secondly to over 2,600 representative figures of all creative genres from antiquity to the present day who have taken up, interpreted and constantly reshaped the ancient myths.
Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts 1300-1990s (Jane Davidson Reid) - Humanities Reference NX 650 .M9 R45 1993
Currently located on the west side of the Humanities Help Desk on Level 5.

Brill's New Pauly Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World This link opens in a new window
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World is the best encyclopedia in English for classical studies. It covers both the ancient world and the reception of classics in the modern world.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Try subject alphabetical searching for "mythology, classical in art," "mythology, classical in literature," or "mythology, classical in opera," etc. Also try searching by subject KEYWORD for the character and the medium: icarus literature, odysseus art, etc.

BYU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Only available on-campus. Library catalog keyword search.

HBLL Scholar Search (Keyword)
This will take you to the advanced search function of the libraries Scholar Search. Select "Books" on the left hand side after you get your search results to narrow in on books available in the library.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Unified catalog of research libraries and public libraries throughout the world. Includes books, serials, sound recordings, data files, musical scores, and visual materials. Search using Library Catalog commands. Updated daily. Interlibrary loan database. Look up book, and order it from interlibrary loan. Formerly FirstSearch.