The LiederNet Archive is an ever-expanding collection of texts to over 135,000 Lieder and other classical art songs. There are also over 25,000 translations.
Website of Hélène Lindqvist - swedish-egyptian soprano and Philipp Vogler - pianist, conductor, composer and professor at the University of Music in Munich Germany
The Aria Database, a collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Provides basic information and includes translations when copyright restrictions allow for it.
Books containing song lyrics / song texts only can be found at ML 54.
ML 54.6 -- lyircs for music up to 1800
ML 54.7 - lyrics for music from 1800 to the present date
Example: ML 54.7 .B72 M44 1995 (Brahms songs in English : singable translations of all the 205 songs for solo voice and pianoforte)
ML 54.7 = lyrics for music composed after 1800
.B72 = Brahms
M44 = author of the book, in this case Minchin
1995 = publication date
If you know a composer's NAME and TIME PERIOD, you can browse in this section for song texts.
Exploring Art Song Lyrics by
"Retzlaff and Montgomery have provided all singers and teachers a very useful resource. The 750 texts are representative of the standard repertoire and the pronunciation guides are well-conceived. This text should be in the library of all who love the singing art." --Stephen King, Professor of Voice, The Shepherd School of Music, Rice University, Houston Grand Opera Studio
Music, Words and Voice by
Focuses on the relationships between words and music, and between musical and verbal forms.
The texts of many art songs have been published separately in collections designed to aid study.
Some examples:
Schubert's complete song texts: with International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions, word-for-word translations, and commentary. (ML 54.6 .S39 G515 1996)
Masters of the Italian art song: word-by-word and poetic translations of ... songs for voice and piano.(ML 54.6 .M34 1990)
Word-by-word translations of songs and arias.(ML 54.6 .C7 W7)
Singer's Debussy. (ML 54.6 .D42 R62 1987)
Search these and similar collections in the Library's catalog under this subject heading:
You'll also find them shelved under the call number ML54.6.
