Subject Guides: Services for BYU Faculty: Research

Research Guides

Use our Research Guides to find key library resources in your subject area and information about scholarship and research.

Examples:
Digital Scholarship Guide
Social Sciences Data Guide
Data
Data Management

Manage your Resources

Manage your resources and citations using a citation management and bibliography generator tool such as RefWorks, EndNote, or Zotero. Find more information about these tools on the library's website at the Bibliography Services page.

Some Style Guides/Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window 17th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the second edition of the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy, and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, as well as a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos.

Subject Librarians

Arrange for a consultation with the librarian assigned to your college and department. Subject Librarians can help you find resources and develop strategies for discovering materials for your research and as you develop your courses.They can also provide library use instruction for classes you teach. Find out who your Subject Librarian is from the library directory or from specific Subject Guides.

ScholarsArchive

ScholarsArchive is Brigham Young University’s institutional repository for scholarly and creative content produced by the University. ScholarsArchive makes research, publications, data, and journals produced by BYU faculty available to a global research audience. This is a great way to enhance your vitae. For more information, please visit our website or contact us at (801)422-2978 | scholarsarchive@byu.edu.

Special Collections

The L. Tom Perry Special Collections offers access to primary resources and rare, one-of-a-kind materials on Level 2 North of the library. They also provide digital online access to some of their collections via the library website. For more information about personnel, specific collections, exhibits, and Special Collection policies please visit their website.

Copyright & Licensing

Whether you have a question about fair use policies or need help obtaining permission to use copyrighted material, the Copyright & Licensing staff are here to help you. Their website contains a great deal of information about copyright laws and policies and includes an instructive online tutorial. You are also welcome to contact or visit them. Phone: 801.422.9339 | Email: copyright@byu.edu| Location: 3760 HBLL (Level 3 South) | Hours: 8am – 5pm, Mon – Fri

Periodical/Journal Information

Find out if publications are refereed, academic, or available electronically. Also learn about publication requirements for periodicals and journals. A few journal ranking sites are listed below too.

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window Ulrichsweb is the online version of Ulrich's Periodical Directory. It contains a quarter-million records (journals, newsletters, newspapers, etc.) that are published world-wide. Each record provides publishing information, price, state date, where it is indexed, email links, etc. Updated daily.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1970+ Lists over 3700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics and folklore, supplying addresses, publication information and guidelines for submission. Updated annually.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.

Research Metrics

This guide will help you understand research metrics about authors, articles/books, and journals.

About Research Metrics

Faculty Research Offices

Faculty Research Rooms

Request the use of a faculty research room for special writing and research projects