Subject Guides: Services for BYU Faculty: Teaching

Course Specific Library Instruction

If you would like to request library instruction specific to a course assignment, please contact your Subject Librarian who can arrange for your class to receive that instruction in one of the library's instruction rooms. Check the library directory for Subject Librarian contact information.

Customized Course Guides

Request that a Course Guide be created to guide your students to specific resources for their research papers and class assignment(s). Here's a link to current Course Guides: http://guides.lib.byu.edu/cat.php?cid=14099. If you would like to request a course guide, contact your Subject Librarian or Reference Specialist in the library department that supports the subject of your course, and we'll be glad to develop a guide for your class.

Experiential Studio

Teach and learn in an environment uniquely designed to support interdisciplinary, library-integrated, and experiential learning.

Overview:

One large teaching area reservable by faculty/staff
Two breakout rooms reservable by students/faculty/staff
Access to prototyping materials
Multiple large HD screens mounted through each area for digital collaboration
Whiteboards on every wall
Instructors: Apply to teach semester-long classes in the studio

Located on Level 4 South

Teaching with Primary Sources

The L. Tom Perry Special Collections offers access to primary resources and rare, one-of-a-kind materials. Special Collections staff can help instructors design course assignments using primary sources found in Special Collections and even meet with classes to show students items from the collection. For more information about personnel, specific collections, exhibits, and Special Collection policies go to their website.

Media

The library houses a large collection of documentary, educational, foreign, and commercial entertainment films (DVDs & Blu-ray) on Level 4 North. Go to the Film Finder search to review what video we have, and Audio Search to find audio material. A large collection of music CDs and vinyl LP records are in the same location. Streaming video and audio databases are also available through the library web site. There are single viewing/listening stations on Level 4 on the north side. Portable DVD/Blu-Ray players are available for check out from the General Help Desk on Level 3. There is a reservable HD viewing room on 4th South. Go here to make a room reservation: https://byu.libcal.com/equipment?lid=18827&gid=39839

Other Instruction Spaces

Instruction Rooms Located on Level 2 North
Alice Louise Reynolds Auditorium Seats 200 Auditorium use is limited to academic functions sponsored by university departments Ward, stake, or club activities are not permitted To make a reservation, groups must have at least 50 people The auditorium may be scheduled up to 6 months in advance. No food is allowed in the auditorium or auditorium gallery
Special Collections Classroom Seats 50 Classroom use is limited to academic functions sponsored by university departments including previously arranged presentations to groups including clubs and wards Food is allowed in the classroom The classroom has a tech podium and projector accessed through a BYU NetID and password Contact Gordon Daines: (801) 422-5821 gordon_daines@byu.edu
Music & Dance Seminar Room A room designed for music and dance courses and meetings. Can be reserved via Campus classroom scheduling. This is a large collaborative classroom space with large whiteboards with staff lines. There is equipment to play any type of media using the CD player, DVD player, LP player, VHS player, and audio cassette player. An upright piano is also available.

Course Reserve

If you would like material (including media) placed on reserve for your students to access, please contact the library's Course Reserve team at: (801) 422-2947 or library_reserve@byu.edu.
3446 HBLL (Circulation/General Help Desk) | Hours M–F 8 am – 5pm, Sat & Sun Closed

Writing & Research Help

Do your students need help with selecting a topic, narrowing a paper topic, understanding how to cite their sources, or learning the mechanics of writing? Send them to the library's Research and Writing Center. They are located on Level 3 in 3322 HBLL. For more information go to the RWC web page.

Also, send your students to the Help Desk for the subject area of your class where they can get one-on-one assistance finding material for their research topics.