Subject Guides: Government Documents: US Federal

Most Commonly Used Resources

Hein Online
Extensive collection of digitized government documents and law journal articles.
Government Publishing Office (GPO)
American Fact Finder
Data collected and provided by the United States Census Bureau.
Library of Congress

POPULAR LINKS

American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation brings together online the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75.
Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis.
Congressional Reports: Inquiry into September 11, 2001
In February 2002, the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence and the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence agreed to conduct a Joint Inquiry into the activities of the U.S. Intelligence Community in connection with the terrorist attacks perpetrated against our nation on September 11, 2001. This report consists of 832 pages that presents the joint inquiry’s findings and conclusions, an accompanying narrative, and a series of recommendations.
CQ Weekly
Congressional Quarterly's magazine on government, commerce and politics.
Environmental Health Perspectives
Environmental Health Perspectives (EHP) is a monthly journal of peer-reviewed research and news on the impact of the environment on human health. EHP is published by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences and its content is free online.
Federal Bulletin Board
Federal agencies use the FBB as a means to distribute electronic files in various file formats to the public. Users can access information from the White House and Executive Branch agencies (includes independent agencies) such as the Department of State and Treasury, the Merit Systems Protection Board, and the Federal Labor Relations Authority. Supreme Court opinions and files are also available from the 1992 Term to the 1999 Term. The Federal Depository Library Program has information available
Federal Citizens Information Center
For more than 35 years, the Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC) has been a trusted one-stop source for answers to questions about consumer problems and government services.
Federal Election Commission
The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections. Here you will find the latest press releases and fundraising information, as well as background information and reference materials.
Federal Register
The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) provides access to the official text of:
* Federal Laws
* Presidential Documents
* Administrative Regulations and Notices
Federal Trade Commission
The FTC provides information and resources on consumer protection issues.
Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission
The Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission released its own report on the causes of the financial crisis. This is a link to the entire report available for download.

Fold3 This link opens in a new window
Alternate title: Footnote. Formerly Footnote.com, Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.

Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
LOC Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room
This page offers a list of links to the US Executive Branch Websites of executive agencies and the office of the president.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Agricultural Statistics is published each year to meet the diverse need for a reliable reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
National Archives
National Centers for Environmental Information
The National Centers for Environmental Information is the world's largest active archive of weather data. NCEI produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world.
National Historical Geographic Information System
NHGIS provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000. NHGIS offers the following options to obtain data:
* The NHGIS Shape Finder provides access to boundary files for mapping data in a GIS software package.
* The NHGIS Data Finder provides access to aggregate census data.
* Social Explorer allows online mapping of NHGIS data.
National Hurricane Center
NCEP delivers science-based environmental predictions to the nation and the global community. They collaborate with partners and customers to produce reliable, timely, and accurate analyses, guidance, forecasts and warnings for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy.
National Resources Conservation Center
The Natural Resources Conservation Service provides leadership in a partnership effort to help people conserve, maintain, and improve our natural resources and environment.
National Security Archives via George Washington University
The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). A tax-exempt public charity, the Archive receives no U.S. government funding; its budget is supported by publication royalties and donations from foundations and individuals. On March 17, 2000, Long Island University named the
North American Industry Classification System
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

This official U.S. Government Web site provides the latest information on plans for NAICS revisions, as well as access to various NAICS reference files and tools.
O*NET
The Occupational Information Network (O*NET) is a database of occupational requirements and worker attributes. It describes occupations in terms of the skills and knowledge required, how the work is performed, and typical work settings.
Penny Hill Press
Penny Hill Press offers same-day delivery of all publications of the Congressional Research Service (CRS), the 739-person, $91.7 million-per-year non-partisan "think tank" that works exclusively for Members and committees of the United States Congress.
Project Megiddo
This analysis, entitled PROJECT MEGIDDO, is an FBI strategic assessment of the potential for domestic terrorism in the United States undertaken in anticipation of or response to the arrival of the new millennium.
The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States contains material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. It includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton. As subsequent volumes are published, they will be added online.
Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts
This site offers the following information:

* Historical Census Reports - Contains historical census reports in PDF for 1790-1860, 1990, and 2000.

* Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000 - Contains questionnaires and instructions, plus individual histories of each census.

* Historical Statistics of the U.S. - Contains statistical abstracts from Colonial Times to 1970.
USA.gov
The government's official web portal provides information and resources from local, state, and federal government agencies.
US Supreme Court Opinions
FindLaw's searchable database of the Supreme Court decisions since 1893. Browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and searchable by citation, case title and full text.
White House Tapes: The President Calling
Three of America's most compelling presidents - Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon - bugged their White House offices and tapped their telephones. They left behind thousands of secretly recorded conversations, from momentous to mundane. In this documentary project, American RadioWorks eavesdrops on presidential telephone calls to hear how each man used one-on-one politics to shape history.

Other Federal Government Resources

Abbreviations and Accronyms of the U.S. Government

New or Interesting Electronic Publications

2015 Economic Report of the President

Presidential Documents

http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/LPS5348

Remarks, President Obama on Ebola Preparedness

Presidential Documents

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/DCPD-201400771/pdf/DCPD-201400771.pdf

Continuing Appropriations Act, Fiscal Year 2015

Joint Resolution 124 (ENR)

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/BILLS-113hjres124enr/pdf/BILLS-113hjres124enr.pdf

IRS and Tax Documents

General Tax Filing Information:

http://www.irs.gov/uac/Publication-17,-Your-Federal-Income-Tax-1

IRS Publications and Forms:

http://www.irs.gov/Forms-&-Pubs

To Order IRS Forms:

http://www.irs.gov/Forms-&-Pubs/Order-Products

INDEXES AND REFERENCE MATERIALS

General Indexes to U.S. Government Publications

Call number: Z 1223 .Z7 P66 1885 (located in Social Sciences Reference Collection)

Descriptive Catalog of the Government Publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881 by Benjamin Poore

Entries are arranged chronologically. Executive and judicial publications are at the beginning of each year and Congressional publications arranged according to date of printing order. An index provides subject headings. While no call numbers are given, enough information is provided to locate items in the Serial Set.

Call number: GP 3.6: 881-893 (located in Auxiliary Storage)

Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893 by John G. Ames

Arranged alphabetically by the keyword in the title of the document. Ames has produced essentially a subject approach. You can look up the name of a country or other place, an Indian reservation or any subject of interest. Ames omits many departmental publications and concentrates on Congressional publications.

Call number: Z 1223 .Z7 C54 1962 (located in Social Sciences Reference Collection)

Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909

Documents are arranged by departments using the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) call number. For example, see I 20. for Bureau of Indian Affairs publications and W 1. for War Department documents. In addition to the departmental coverage, there are sections on the American State papers and Congressional documents from the 15th to the 60th Congress.

Call number: J 74.C65 (LC classification)

U.S. Serial Set Index, 1789-1969.

Probably the most valuable historical collection of federal publications in existence. Includes Congressional and departmental publications. The subject/keyword index is excellent and you can locate material on a given state or territory, the Mormons, American Indians, and even includes genealogical information in a section called "Private Relief" (arranged by individual names). The index supplies the Serial Set call number which looks like this: 1728, 15555, etc. The full-text for each document is available on microfiche through the 57^th Congress and then in print, arranged by Serial Set number. (Current Committee reports and documents are in microfiche and online through Thomas, Congressional Universe, and GPO Access.)

Locating Printed Federal Documents

United States Federal Government Publications are organized by a system developed and managed by the Superintendent of Documents. This system is commonly referred to as SuDoc. The link below provides basic information regarding this system.

SuDoc Classifications