Subject Guides: Grant Writing: Finding Funding

Pivot: Searchable Database of Funding

Pivot - Community of Science This link opens in a new window
Pivot allows researchers to search for funding and collaboration opportunities. Convenient features include the ability to save searches, received emailed funding alerts, and share funding opportunities with colleagues.

Click on the image above
Click on "Sign up" in the upper right corner of the webpage
Fill out the requested information*, making sure BYU is specified as the affiliated member institution
Click on "Create my account"
* You may be required to have a BYU email address. If you do not have one, create one by going to my.byu.edu-->Communication-->Email Alias Manager

Login

Click on the image above
Click "Log in" in the upper right of the webpage (Hint: your username is the email you used to sign up)

Get to your Profile

Method 1:

Click on the "Profiles" tab near the top left of the webpage
Under the section labeled, "Update your profile," select "Click here"

Method 2:

Click on your name at the top of any page in Pivot
Click on "Your profile"

Edit your Profile

Click "Edit Profile" (it will open up in a new window)
Click "Edit"
Fill in desired information (e.g., ORCID, affiliations, education, keywords associated with your research)

Need additional help? See this Pivot Help page.

Once you have created an account and updated your profile, click on the home icon in the upper left corner (when you login from here on out, your homepage will open by default). On your homepage, you can keep track of funding opportunities or launch a search. The following links take you to Pivot Help articles that explain the components that make up your homepage.

Overview of Your Homepage

Active Opportunities

Tracked Opportunities

Saved Searches

Shared Opportunities

Received Opportunities

Advisor

Curated Opportunities

While you can start a funding search in the grey bar at the top of any Pivot webpage, the funding page offers an advanced search setting as well as links to popular funding opportunities and news about funding. The following links will help you navigate this page and learn how to search for funding most effectively.

Funding Quick Search

Funding Advanced Search

Field Descriptions

Funding Search Tips

Navigating your Search Results

Making a Funding Opportunity Active

Tracking a Funding Opportunity

Sharing a Funding Opportunity

Managing an Individual Funding Opportunity Record

Pivot offers the ability to search for scholars via the profile hompage. The following links discuss how profile information is obtained and how to search for scholar profiles effectively.

General Information

Profile Overview

Profile Homepage

Searching

Profile Quick Search

Profile Advanced Search

Profile Search Tips

Navigating Search Results

Navigating Faculty Profile

For more information about how to use Pivot, see the following:

Main Pivot Help Page

Pivot Training Videos

Pivot Quick Start Guide

Federal Funding Resources

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) CFDA contains detailed program descriptions for over 2,000 Federal assistance programs.
Grants.gov Grants.gov is a great resource to find and apply for federal grants. The website is managed by the United States Department of Health and Human Services.
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) On this NEH website, funding opportunities can be searched by division (e.g., preservation, digital humanities, public programs) or by keyword. The embedded "Match your project to a grant program" link may help you decide what division best fits your project idea.
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) Similar to other government agencies, you can search for NIDA funding by keywords. The NIDA is dedicated to funding research that informs our understanding of drug abuse and addiction and furthers our treatment and prevention efforts.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) Search the NIH website for medical and behavioral funding opportunities. You can focus your search on active RFAs (Requests for Applications), active PAs (Program Announcements), or keywords.
National Institute of Justice (NIJ) NIJ funds physical and social science research, development and evaluation projects about criminal justice, forensic laboratory enhancements, and research fellowships (graduate student and faculty). The focus of the solicitations varies from year to year based on research priorities and available funding.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) This link takes you to the NIMH funding opportunity webpage. If interested, there is a link listed where you can sign up for a mailing list of funding opportunities. Also look for the "Funding Strategy for Grants" link, which discusses NIMH's strategic plan and research priorities.
National Science Foundation (NSF) On this NSF webpage, the main search technique is by keyword, although look for a link that provides an A-Z list of funding titles.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Funding opportunities listed include environmental education and community/university partnerships.

BYU Funding Resources

BYU National Scholarships, Fellowships, and Programs Office The National Scholarships, Fellowships, and Programs (NSFP) office helps both undergraduate and graduate students find national funding (e.g., scholarships, fellowships, research grants). Funding opportunities may also be available for summer and study abroad programs.
Charles Redd Center Grants The Charles Redd Center provides awards, fellowships, and grants in a variety of categories to individuals across several disciplines.
NASA Space Grant Fellowships The BYU Rocky Mountain NASA Space Grant Consortium provides student research fellowships for undergraduate and graduate students to promote student space-related research. Application information is found under the Utah NASA Space Grant Consortium Fellowship tab near the bottom of the page.
Nursing Research Center The College of Nursing provides a research office in the SWKT building with resources for all students and faculty.
Targeted Funding Opportunities for BYU STEM Faculty BYU Research Development for STEM disciplines maintains a list of funding opportunities that may be of particular interest to BYU faculty.
Women's Studies Current Scholarships This link provides research opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students. Research grants include The Ella Carpenter Jensen Scholarship, The Annaley Naegle Redd Student Award in Women's History, and The Helen Z. Papanikolas Award.

FHSS Internship Grants Current undergraduate and graduate students who are declared majors in a program in the College of Family, Home, and Social Sciences may apply for an internship grant. Individual grants up to $1,600 are available each academic semester (fall, winter, and spring/summer). These are competitive awards based on financial need, the quality of the internship, and the degree to which the internship helps support the applicant’s academic and career goals.
Kennedy Center Undergraduate Research Grants The Kennedy Center continually takes grant proposals to further international and area studies. Award priority is given to Kennedy Center undergraduate students or affiliates.
Mentored Undergraduate Researcher: McKay School of Education The Mentored Undergraduate Researcher program in the School of Education at Brigham Young University provides opportunities for undergraduate students to work with faculty mentors on joint research projects.
ORCA Student Mentoring Grant BYU's Office of Research & Creative Activities (ORCA) offers $1,500 grants to help undergraduate students work with faculty in a one-on-one mentoring setting. Grants are only awarded annually. Students may use an ORCA Grant for anything they wish. Some use the funds to reimburse time, supplies, and/or other expenses involved with conducting an academic project. Students may either design their own project or work on a professor's ongoing research. All students must work with a mentor.
Student Research Grants The Library Student Research Grant program encourages outstanding student achievement in research, fosters information literacy, and stimulates original scholarship. Grant recipients will be mentored by a subject librarian as they make use of the services, resources, and collections of the Harold B. Lee Library. Grants will be awarded annually during fall semester. Projects must be completed by the end of the academic year. Awarded students will receive a stipend of $500, $1000 or $1500.

BYU Religious Education Dissertation Grant Program This grant program assists students in completing their doctoral dissertations related to the teaching and research missions of Religious Education at BYU.
Engineering & Technology: Fellowship Opportunities On this link, ET graduate students interested in obtaining funding through fellowships will find great tips and links to funding sources.
FHSS Internship Grants Current undergraduate and graduate students who are declared majors in a program in the College of Family, Home, and Social Sciences may apply for an internship grant. Individual grants up to $1,600 are available each academic semester (fall, winter, and spring/summer). These are competitive awards based on financial need, the quality of the internship, and the degree to which the internship helps support the applicant’s academic and career goals.
Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF) The Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF) is a university award sponsored by Graduate Studies, and is designed to support innovative research and creative works conducted by graduate students under the guidance of faculty advisors. Twenty-five to thirty GRF awards will be offered each year. The level of support is $5,000, $10,000, or $15,000 for one year. This flexibility allows you to choose an appropriate level of support after consultation with your faculty advisor.
Professional Presentation Award Graduate students presenting original research at conferences or performing or displaying creative work are eligible to receive a Research Presentation Award (RPA) averaging $400. RPAs are intended to enable graduate students to travel to important conferences or events within their discipline in order to present their scholarly and creative work. RPAs are awarded two times each year and are distributed within two months after the application deadline
Student Research Grants The Library Student Research Grant program encourages outstanding student achievement in research, fosters information literacy, and stimulates original scholarship. Grant recipients will be mentored by a subject librarian as they make use of the services, resources, and collections of the Harold B. Lee Library. Grants will be awarded annually during fall semester. Projects must be completed by the end of the academic year. Awarded students will receive a stipend of $500, $1000 or $1500.

The Center for Undergraduate Research in Mathematics CURM gives faculty members the opportunity to fund an undergraduate research group at their institution for a full academic year. This program promotes undergraduate research in mathematics and has a strong commitment to underrepresented groups in the mathematical sciences.
Faculty Research Fellowships: Ira A. Fulton College of Engineering and Technology This document outlines the details of research fellowships in the Fulton College to promote faculty research including eligibility, selection criteria, and application process.
FHSS Research Grants The purpose of College research funding is to support faculty members in 1) publishing peer-reviewed articles and scholarly books, 2) conducting pilot studies and 3) preparing external grant applications.
Kennedy Center Faculty Research Grants The Kennedy Center yearly funds a limited number of research grants to full-time faculty to encourage international-focused research. Current faculty participants in Kennedy Center programs will be given priority.
Marriott School Research Grants In connection with the Global Business Center, this link provides information for faculty interested in pursuing International Business research.
McKay School of Education (MSE) Research Grants McKay School of Education (MSE) Research Grants are provided to eligible BYU faculty to advance the mission and goals of the MSE through research. Funding priority will be given as noted below. MSE Research Grants provide up to two years of funding to provide financial assistance for research projects from inception to dissemination. The annual competition will occur in the Fall for funding to begin in the Winter semester. Up to $20,000 will be funded for year one and up to $20,000 for year two. A separate competition may occur in the Spring for funding to begin Summer term, for up to $10,000 for year one and $20,000 for year two.
Mentoring Environment Grants (MEG) Available to faculty, MEG facilitate undergraduate work with faculty on research, field studies, or creative projects. Each grant is worth up to $20,000. The grant monies can be used to pay undergraduate/graduate student wages, purchase supplies, and cover travel expenses. They cannot be used to cover faculty wages or equipment.
Mentored Undergraduate Researcher: McKay School of Education The Mentored Undergraduate Researcher program in the School of Education at Brigham Young University provides opportunities for undergraduate students to work with faculty mentors on joint research projects.
Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center offers research grants annually to BYU faculty or Church Educational System personnel for projects related to Latter-day Saint history, doctrine, scripture, and culture.
Scholarly and Creative Works Arts Grants: College of Fine Arts and Communication Intended for BYU Faculty in a CFS-track position, this site provides links to several different grants all intended to support and and encourage scholarly and creative art. The John A. Witsoe grant supports innovative research on the quality of life.

Other Funding Resources

Foundation Directory Online (FDO)- Full Access
FDO is a database where individuals can search for private funders. For full access, see the FDO section here: http://researchdevelopment.byu.edu/search-tools/search-tools. Full access allows you to search for grantmakers, companies, grants, and 990s.
National Geographic Society National Geographic offers a variety of grants to support exploration and discovery to provide scientific breakthroughs and discoveries about the planet. The different grants focus on different areas of the world, the type of research, and level of experience. Particularly applicable to those in the life sciences.
The Grantsmanship Center: Funding by State This link allows you to find community and corporate funding opportunities tied to a particular state.
Top Giving Foundations in Utah This link lists the top giving foundations in Utah that issue Requests for Proposals (RFPs).