Marshall. Catalogue of five hundred celebrated authors of Great Britain, now living: the whole arranged in alphabetical order: and including a complete list of their publications, with occasional strictures, and anecdotes of their lives.[First edition]. London: Printed for R. Faulder…, J. Sewel…, and B. Law, 1788.

Contains the first biography of Robert Burns, published two years after the first (Kilmarnock) edition of Burns’ poems.

Call number: Burns Collection Z 2010 .M36 1788

Currie, James, ed. The works of Robert Burns: with an account of his life, and a criticism on his writings. To which are prefixed,some observations on the character and condition of Scottish peasantry. Liverpool: Printed by J. M’Creery, for T. Cadell, jun., and W.Davies, London; and W. Creech, Edinburgh, 1800.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4300 1800 .L2 vol. 1-4

Lockhart, J.G. Life of Robert Burns. Edinburgh: Constable and Co.; London: Hurst, Chance, and Co., 1828.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4331 .L6 1828

Cunningham, Allan. The life of Robert Burns. [Second edition]. London: James Cochrane and Co., 1835.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4331 .C823 1835

The life of Robert Burns, the Ayrshire bard: with an essay on his character and writings. New and improved series, no. 37 [chapbook]. Glasgow: Printed for the booksellers, 1852.

Call number: Burns Collection

Freeland, P.F. Memorials of Robert Burns and some of his contemporaries and their descendants. London: Sampson Low, Marston, Searle & Rivington; Kilmarnock: M’kie & Drennan, 1876.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4335 .A5 1876

Carswell, Catherine. The Life of Robert Burns. London: Chatto & Windus, 1930.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4331 .C45 1930

Ferguson, J. De Lancey. Pride and passion: Robert Burns, 1759-1796. New York: Oxford University Press, 1939.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4331 .F4 1939

Daiches, David. Robert Burns. London: G. Bell, 1952.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4331 .D25 1952

Mackay, James A. A biography of Robert Burns. Edinburgh: Mainstream, 1992.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4331 .M34 1992

McIntyre, Ian. Dirt & deity: a life of Robert Burns. London: HarperCollins, 1995.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4331 .M35 1995

Crawford, Robert. The Bard: Robert Burns, a biography. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2009.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4331 .C73 2009