These lists include monographs only, though the Burns Collection has many copies of individual essays and journal articles dealing with Burns and his works. These articles can be found through a search of the library catalog.

First review of Burns’ Poems, chiefly in the Scottish dialect in The Lounger no. 97 (1786). Edinburgh: Printed for W. Creech, [1787].

Call number: Burns Collection Quarto PR 1 .L681 nos. 1-101

Wordsworth, William. A letter to a friend of Robert Burns. London: Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1816. Signed presentation copy to Thomas Charles Rice.

Call number: Vault Collection 821.716 L863 1816

Carlyle, Thomas. Robert Burns: from his fifth lecture on “Heroes and hero worship.” In New-Yorker vol. XI no. 6 (April 24, 1841).

Call number: Burns Collection Quarto PR 4331 .C322 1841

Gairdner, M. S. Burns: an inquiry into certain aspects of his life and character and the moral influence of his poetry. London: Elliot Stock, 1886.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .G3 1886

Ross, John D., ed. Early critical reviews on Robert Burns. Glasgow; Edinburgh: William Hodge & Co., 1900. Presentation copy to Andrew Munro, Esq.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .R6 1900

MacDiarmid, Hugh. Burns today and tomorrow. Edinburgh: Castle Wynd Printers, 1959. Signed limited edition of 25; BYU copy is no. 16.

Call number: Burns Collection 4331 .M342 1959

McGuirk, Carol, ed. Critical essays on Robert Burns. New York: GK Hall; London: Prentice Hall International, 1998.

Call number: Burns Collection 4338 .C84 1998

Noble, Andrew, and Patrick Scott Hogg, eds. The Canongate Burns. Edinburgh: Canongate Books Ltd., 2001.

Call number: Burns Collection 4301 .N62 2001 v. 1-2

McIlvanney, Liam. Burns the Radical: poetry and politics in eighteenth-century Scotland. East Linton: Tuckwell, 2002.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4342 .P64 M36 2002

Carruthers, Gerard. The Edinburgh companion to Robert Burns. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2009.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .E35 2009

Pittock, Murray, ed. Robert Burns in global culture. Lewisburg: Bucknell University Press, 2011.

Call number: Burns Collection PR 4338 .R555 2011