Recommended Guides
Click on images to link to guides.
Tracing LDS Families Guide (FamilySearch)
This outline introduces the strategies and records that can help you learn more about your Mormon ancestors.
Tracing LDS Ancestors Portal
A portal that will lead you to topics in the FamilySearch Wiki that will assist you in your search for LDS ancestors.
Utah Research Outline
This outline introduces the strategies and records that can help you learn more about your Utah ancestors.
Utah Research Outline Adapted for HBLL
A PDF file of the Utah FamilySearch Research Guide with HBLL call numbers added.
Utah Research Portal
A portal that describe records that will assist you in your search for ancestors who lived in Utah during their life time.
FamilySearch Wiki
FamilySearch Wiki is a large, on-line library where you can find thousands of articles and how-to instructions about doing family history.
Family History Programming at BYU
Family History Firesides at BYU
This fireside series is held twice yearly and is sponsored by The Center for Family History and Genealogy at BYU.
Question and Ancestors (BYU Television)
A weekly series that focuses on genealogy questions submitted by the broadcast audience. Co-hosts Emily Wilbur (professional researcher) and Darius Gray (co-director of Freedman's Records Project), along with other family history experts field your e-mail questions.
Recommended Databases
- Ancestry.com (Campus Access Only)Free in the HBLL, this subscription-based genealogy research website has over 5 billion records online and more being added almost daily.
- List of LDS Content in Ancestry.comThis FamilySearch Wiki article is a summary of the records currently available at Ancestry.com for LDS research.
- List of LDS Content in Family History Suite IIFamilySearch Wiki article about Family History Suite 2 CD.
- FamilySearchThe primary resources offered by FamilySearch are searchable databases, research guidance, and the catalog of the Family History Library.
- About FamilySearch.orgWikipedia article about FamilySearch.org.
- FamilySearch Wiki
- Mormons and Their NeighborsAn index to 100,000 biographies on Mormons located in over 200 sources in the Harold B. Lee Library. Compiled by Marvin E. Wiggins
- Mormon Migration (Crossing the Oceans)The Mormon Migration website, hosted by the Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah, provides a place for historical and genealogical research into the world-wide migration records and history about the 19th and 20th century movement of thousands of immigrants from many nations who are part of the membership of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, more commonly known as the LDS Church or the Mormon Church.
- Mormon Pioneer Overland Travel, 1847–1868 (Crossing the Plains)The most complete index of individuals and companies that crossed the plains in Church companies between 1847 and 1868, although many names are still missing. Includes the full-text of first-person narrative accounts of crossing the plains.
- Welsh Mormon HistoryThis site seeks to preserve and share information about the early converts to Mormonism in Wales. It contains primary sources such as journals.
- World Vital Records - LDS CollectionMembership of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints 1830-1848 ; Early Members of the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; LDS Biographical Encyclopedia;Marriages in the Nauvoo Region 1839-1845; From Kirtland to Salt Lake City; Property Transactions in Nauvoo, Hancock County, Illinois, and Surrounding Communities, 1839-1859; Seventy Quorum Membership, 1835-1846;
Pioneers of 1847: A Sesquicentennial Remembrance;Inscriptions Found on Tombstones and Monuments in Early Latter-day Saint Burial Grounds; Members of the Willie and Martin Handcart Companies of 1856; Members of the Mormon Battalion: A Sesquicentennial Remembrance; Members of the Ellsworth and McArthur Handcart Companies of 1856.
Recommended Microfilm at HBLL

- Early Church Information File (ECIF). Films 1,750,655-1,750,729.An alphabetical card index of individuals on 75 rolls of microfilm with 1,500,000 entries from over 1,200 international sources about Latter-day Saints from 1830 to the mid-1900s. It indexes many of the sources listed below.
- Church Census Records, 1914-1960. Films 0,025,708-0,025,779. The Church took censuses to track members and Church growth throughout the world. The first Church wide census was taken in 1914. Beginning in 1920, the Church took a census every five years until 1960, except 1945.
- European Emigration Card Index (“Crossing the Ocean Index”), 1840-1925. Films 298,431-298,439. (Indexed in ECIF).An alphabetical card index to the Saints who crossed the ocean on their way to Utah. This index focuses only on ships chartered by Church agents with cards filed by the head of family or group leader. Also located on the Mormon Immigration CD.
- European Mission Index—Continental Europe. Films 0,025,696-0,025,700. (Indexed in ECIF).Arranged by year of departure from Great Britain, then by ship.
- European Mission Index—Great Britain (“British Mission Register” or “BMR”). Films 0,025,690-0,025,695. (Indexed in ECIF)Records identify Latter-day Saints who registered with the LDS Emigration Office in Liverpool, England between 1849 to 1885 and 1899 to 1925.
- Family Group Records Collection. Main Section Archives. Films 1,273,501-1,275,409.Containing 8 million family group records filed alphabetically by the father’s or husband’s surname and then by given name and birth year.
- Marriage License Card Index. Film 8820162.Compiled from civil, ward, and branch records from the 1880s to the 1940s.. Arranged alphabetically by surname of bride and groom.
- Missionary Record Index, 1830-1971. Films 1,913,079-1,913,102. (Indexed in ECIF) An alphabetical card index of full-time missionaries set apart up to 1971. Actual missionary records are located in the Church History Library.
- Membership Card Index (“Record of Members Index” or “Minnie Margett’s File”), 1839-1915. Films 415,444-415,457. This is a large alphabetical index by member name of mostly English branch membership records (1839–1913).
- Membership Records. Films 0,025,556-0,027,439.Before searching membership records, researchers should determine which ward or branch an ancestor resided in, then search by specific locality and time period. A Church-wide index to membership records is not available.
- Nauvoo Baptisms for the Dead Index. Films 820-152-820-155, 183,376-183,37.An alphabetic card index to proxy and names of baptisms for the dead performed in Nauvoo from 1840-1845.
- Nauvoo Social History Index. 6 Fiche 6334931.This is a personal name index to over 71,000 records including Nauvoo property records, tax lists, ship lists, censuses, family group records, and research notes. Shows the name, sex, and source information for each entry.
- Obituary Card Index. Films 0, 821,636-0,821,699.An alphabetical index of names of persons whose obituaries appeared in several Salt Lake City newspapers and a few LDS publications as well.
- Patriarchal Blessing Card Index. Films 392,631-392,696.An index of persons who received a patriarchal blessing from 1833 to 1971. Fiche index (6,334,933) covers more years (1833-1993) but the card index contains more information.
- Perpetual Emigrating Fund. Film 0,025,686. The fund used to assist approximately 30,000 LDS converts to migrate to Utah. There is no complete list of members who used PEF exists. Many members used the fund, and paid their debt; enabling other members to emigrate.
- Priesthood Records: Seventies Quorum Records, 1844-1975. Films 0,025,553-0,025,555, 0,026,584.Records are arranged in numerical order by quorum number.
- Utah Bishops’ Report (1852-1853). Film 823831. (Indexed in ECIF)In the winter of 1852–1853 the bishops of Utah took a census. They recorded the name of the head of each family in their ward or branch.
- Utah Immigration Card Index (“Crossing the Plains Index”), 1847-1868. Films 298,440-298,442. (Indexed in ECIF) Alphabetical card index of individuals who immigrated to Utah before 10 May 1869 in LDS Church sponsored immigrant companies. Cards are filed by the head of the family or group leader.
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Mormon Studies |
Free Online Genealogy Classes at BYU
Family History Classes at BYU
Independent Study now offers free courses in different areas of study. These areas include Family History, Family Life, and Religious Scripture Study, such as the Book of Mormon and the Doctrine and Covenants.








Loading...
Loading...
