These items are representative of the numerous works in the Rowe Collection about or inspired by geographical places associated with Wordsworth — especially England's Lake District and his homes at Dove Cottage and Rydal Mount.

Collection of photographs of William Wordsworth and his homes and haunts.
Note: This collection was originally part of the Edward M. Rowe William Wordsworth Literary Collection. There are some 189 images including portraits of William Wordsworth and his wife, images of Dorothy Wordsworth, and miscellaneous images of friends including Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Robert Southey, Charles Lamb and Mary Lamb. There are also images of Dove Cottage, as well as many other images of houses and landscapes. Many of the images are post cards. In addition to the images there is a pencil and ink sketch titled ” Wordsworth’s home at Grasmere — Dove Cottage” by Annie Carol Proctor.

• Call number: Photograph Collection MSS P 2276

Mackay, Charles. The scenery and poetry of the English lakes: a summer ramble . Longman, Brown, Green, and Longmans, 1846.

• Call number: Rowe Collection DA 670 .L1 M2 1846

Phillips, John.  Black’s picturesque guide to the English lakes: including an essay on the geology of the district.  6th edition.  Edinburgh: Adam and Charles Black, Booksellers and Publishers to the Queen, 1853.

• Call number: Rowe Collection DA 670 .L1 B53 1853

Malleson, F. A.  Holiday studies of Wordsworth by rivers, woods, and Alps: the Wharfe, the Duddon, and the Stelvio Pass. Cassell and Co., 1890.

• Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5884 .M3 1890

Rawnsley, H.D.  Life and nature at the English Lakes.  Glasgow: J. MacLehose and sons, 1899.

• Call number: Rowe Collection DA 670 .L1 R2 1899

Knight, William Angus.  Dove Cottage, Grasmere: from 1800 to 1900.  Ambleside: George Middleton, 1900.

• Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5884 .K55 1900

Robertson, Eric S.  Wordsworthshire: an introduction to a poet’s country.  London: Chatto & Windus, 1911.

• Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5884 .R6x 1911

Clutterbuck, Nesta.  Dove cottage: a short guide to the home of William Wordsworth, 1799-1808.  Bradford, Eng.: Lund Humpries, 198-?

• Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5888 .A1 no.78

Lindop, Grevel.  A literary guide to the Lake District.  London: Chatto & Windus, 1993.

• Call number: Rowe Collection DA 670 .L1 L56 1993

Powell, Cecilia. Savage grandeur and noblest thoughts: discovering the Lake District 1750-1820. Grasmere: Wordsworth Trust, 2010.

• Call number: Rowe Collection N 8214.5 .G7 P69 2010