Subject Guides: Architecture: Books

Finding Books | Lee Library and Other Libraries

ScholarSearch
Search books, journals, articles, or other electronic materials. Use SIMPLE or ADVANCED search at the top. If looking for books only, be sure to select item type=books

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Search catalogs of other libraries. You can find out if other libraries have what you need. You can order those books through our Interlibrary Loan Services. Worldcat is an example of a national consortia of libraries.

Subject Headings

Search by architect, building type, building style, time period, or location. Subject heading examples:

Architect's Name: Santiago Calatrava
Building Name: Parthenon (Athens, Greece)
Building Type: Ex: Palaces, Cathedrals, Castles, Churches, Mosques, Temples, etc.
Temples--Greece--Athens
Location + “Buildings, structures, etc.”: Athens (Greece)--Buildings, structures, etc.
Building Style: Architecture, Renaissance—Italy
Architecture +Country/city: Architecture--England--London
Ancient architecture: Architecture, Ancient--Egypt

HOUSE DESIGN
Browsing areas: NA 7000 and NK 2000

Additional Useful Subject Headings

Architecture and society
Architecture, Modern -- 21st century
City Planning--History--20th century
Modern Movement (Architecture)
Skyscrapers
Sustainable architecture
Symbolism in architecture

Theses & Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PQDT Global connects scholarship from 4,100 universities in over 60 countries, diverse voices, ideas, and perspectives can be viewed within a singular global context. : Each full text dissertation and thesis in PQDT is fully searchable providing an unparalleled resource for text and data mining analysis making connections that generate new insights.
Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU This link opens in a new window
Electronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies

DIGITIZED BOOK COLLECTIONS

Internet Archive: Texts
Contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, and academic books from American and Canadian Libraries, Community Texts, Project Gutenberg, and many more. Lots of architectural history books.

Bibliography Maker

Create and format your own bibliography of articles, books, etc. Import references from databases and use the style guide of your choice! Step-by-Step Guide