Chat
Chat with the science reference desk. Hours:
Mon-Thur, 8am - 9pm
Friday, 8am - 6pm
Saturday, 10am - 6pm
To contact Peter Zuber, see the contact information to the right.
Chat requires JavaScript.
Comments (0)
Writing a Paper?
The basic strategy for writing a paper is:
1. First, use the "Background Sources" tab above to search encyclopedias and handbooks for things you'll need to get STARTed. Such as:
S = subtopics (find areas to narrow your focus within your research area)
T = terminology (find keywords to search in databases)
A = authors (perform your due diligence and reference significant researchers)
R = references (start compiling references to articles, books, etc.)
T = treatment (historical review, experimental analysis, economic review?)
2. Second, use the article databases in the "Get Journal Articles" tab above to get primary and secondary level articles that will support your literature review and provide your core references.
3. Third, use the "Bibliographic Help" tab to learn about peer-review, literature levels, and reference styles. Here, you can get RefWorks software and create your bibliographies automatically.
All of the above is facilitated from within this Subject Guide. From here, you can pretty much get all the info you need to explore your topic, get articles, prepare references, and start writing!
For additional information on elements of research, writing your paper, and writing styles, see the Step by Step Research Guide
Have a Question?
Search to see if your question has already been answered!
Selected answers (links open in new window):
- What is the best overall database to use to find Engineering articles?
- How do I find out if the library subscribes to a certain journal?
- How do I access databases and journals from off-campus?
- How do I use RefWorks to cite a book?
- RefWorks is asking for a group code when I try to access RefWorks off campus. What is the group code?
- How do I find Course Reserve items?
Engineering & Computer Science Librarian |


Loading...
