Subject Guides: Theatre: Production & Design

Theatre Databases

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

International Index to the Performing Arts

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window IBTD is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Full text access is available to over 490 titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books and monographs.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Research Library (ProQuest). This multi-disciplinary database includes more than 4,050 titles - nearly 2,800 in full text - from 1971 forward.

Theatre Production & Design Research

Theatre production and design research usually requires both primary and secondary sources such as reviews, criticism, images, interviews, design, venue, etc.

Consult the TMA 259 Course Guide (Theatre & Media Design) for guidance to helpful resources.

Call Numbers

GT 500-2370 Costume. Dress. Fashion

PN 2067 Theatrical costume and costume design

PN 2068 Makeup

PN2069 Wigs

PN 2085-2091 The stage and accessories

PN 2091.E4 Electric devices. Stage lighting

TR 891 Lighting for motion pictures

TT 490-695 Clothing manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring

FLOOR MAP (level 5)

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

Websites

Internet Broadway Database
IBDB archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Internet Off-Broadway Database
The Lortel Archives, also known as (Internet Off-Broadway Database) provides a catalogue of shows produced Off-Broadway.
Playbill Vault
Dadaskalia
An e-journal that publishes reviews of Greek and Roman productions