Subject Guides: Political Science: Articles

Search Tips

Be aware of keywords and subject terms used in articles on your topic and add them to your search.
Search in multiple locations/databases to ensure you get the full picture on your topic.
Save time by searching multiple databases at once. Within any EBSCO database select "Choose Databases" to add.

Citing & Organization

RefWorks This link opens in a new window The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.

Purdue OWL Helpful information on citation and format styles.

The Concise APA Handbook 7th edition
Publication Date: 2020

Primary Databases

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window 1975+ Indexes and abstracts 1,000 journals in political science and its complementary fields. Includes articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Updated monthly.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Social Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Social Science Collection is a collection of journals covering a wide range of social science topics including communications, criminal justice, education, linguistics and language behavior, physical education, political science, psychology, social services and sociology.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 8,500 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, citedwork, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic.

Other Helpful Databases

Look at subject guides for specific areas of the world for specialized indexes/datatabases.

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A database focusing on the History of the U.S. and Canada. This database includes scholarly articles, book reviews and dissertations dealing with history in the Americas from pre-history to the present. Publication coverage is from 1964 to the present.
EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1969 Economic Literature Index. Indexes the world's economic literature from over 350 scholarly journals, dissertations, collected works, conference proceedings and books. Includes selected abstracts plus full text for more than 480 journals. Updated quarterly.
Gender Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains archival material dating back to the mid 1970s.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1955+ Indexes and abstracts scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
PAIS International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The PAIS International database contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Policy Central (National Journal Group) This link opens in a new window Alternate title: National Journal Group Policy Central. National Journal Group Inc. is a leading publisher of magazines, newsletters, books and directories for people who have a professional interest in politics, policy and government. Based in Washington, D.C., National Journal Group Inc. is committed to providing publications and services that are nonpartisan, reliable and of the highest quality.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Research Library (ProQuest). This multi-disciplinary database includes more than 4,050 titles - nearly 2,800 in full text - from 1971 forward.

Working Papers & Reports

World Bank Access thousands of reports, papers, and books on development.

NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window Alternate title: National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers. The NBER Working Papers are produced by the National Bureau of Economic Research. The Papers do not undergo the review accorded official NBER publications. They are intended to present NBER research to economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication elsewhere. They provide initial access to research findings of leading economists often years before the same articles appear in other professional publications. The NBER Working Papers are highly regarded by researchers in economics. Includes full-text.

Federal Reserve Research papers and notes from the Federal Reserve.

Librarian

Brian Wages

Email Me

Contact:

1225 HBLL

801-422-3809

Subjects: History & Geography, Social Sciences