Subject Guides: Political Science & International Relations: Books, Theses, & Dissertations

Ways to Search For Books

Theses & Dissertations

CRL's Foreign Dissertations Database (Advanced Search) This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 20,000 foreign doctoral dissertations. Through this growing database, the Center for Research Libraries provides access to approximately 20,000 foreign doctoral dissertations. Search by author, title, institution name, the year the dissertation was defended, language, subject/keywords, and/or translated title.

CRL's Dissertations from Universities Outside the U.S. and Canada Database Provides access to The Center for Research Libraries' holdings of more than 750,000 dissertations from outside the U.S. and Canada. The Center will order titles not held if requested by a member institution.

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A database of dissertations and theses. Most include abstracts in full-text. Order copies of entire theses or dissertations through interlibrary loan (ILL--see Library Homepage). Coverage: 1861 - Current. With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download. Usage Terms: * No systematic downloading of this database is allowed * Any copies of articles or other materials from this database must include appropriate citation information (title, author, publisher, copyright notice, etc.) and must be deleted when no longer in use.

Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU Electronic versions of theses/dissertations completed at BYU and submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies.

What political science and international relations call numbers mean

In the Library, call numbers are the "addresses" of books on the shelves. In political science and international relations, the call numbers start with the letter J, according to the Library of Congress classification system, and here are the basic interpretations:

J = general legislative or executive papers

JA = general political science

JC = political theory and philosophy of the state

JF = governments generally, political institutions or public administration

JK = government, political institutions or public administration of the United States

JL = government, political institutions or public administration of Western Hemisphere

JN = government, political institutions or public administration of Europe

JQ = government, political institutions or public administration of Asia, Africa, Australia/New Zealand, Middle East, Pacific Area

JS = city, county or regional local government or public administration

JV = colonies, colonialism, human migration

JX = (obsolete) foreign relations, diplomacy (see JZ)

JZ = international relations, world politics, diplomacy, international security, international law