Subject Guides: MCOM 320: Finding Articles

Business Articles

Why look beyond Google? A Google search is a great starting place for research. But a Google search will miss many relevant and high quality sources only available in the deep web. Library databases house many deep web resources (e.g., journal and magazine articles, news, statistics) and often specialize in a type of resource or discipline (like business). On this page you will find recommended databases for business research. These are not sources in and of themselves, but are landing pages to continue and expand your search. To learn more about library databases, watch this short video.

Watch a video about finding articles. Also check out the rest of the HBLL Business Database Research Videos. (Five short videos (2mins each) on choosing a topic, Evaluating websites, Finding Articles, Publication Types, and Search Strategies).

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A collection of popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications, including the Harvard Business Review. Covers accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, regional studies, sales, trade and technology.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, analyst reports, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Find data from sources such as WSJ, Reuters and Dow Jones.
No Systematic Downloading. Factiva may not be used for data mining, text mining, or trend analysis functions.

General Databases (Include articles from all disciplines)

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.

Popular Journals

Harvard Business Review
MIT Sloan Management Review
Kiplinger's Personal Finance Relates to saving, investing, taxes, insurance, major purchases including homes, education, health, travel & more.

Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

Background Databases (To learn more about your topic)

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explore a current issue in depth
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center's unique features include Topic Overviews -- frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets -- and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus reference series of statistics, government data, information on legislation and more. Limited excerpts may be printed or downloaded for personal research use only.

Newspapers & Magazines

Barrons (1975-Present)
Bloomberg Businessweek (1996-Present)
Business Week From 1996 to present
Chicago Tribune (1989-Present)
Chronicle of Higher Education (1990-Present)
Deseret News (2003-Present) Indexes the full-text of major newspaper articles including obituaries and the LDS Church News. Text can be downloaded, printed, or sent to an E-mail account. Updated daily.
The Economist
Forbes (1971-Present)
Fortune (1984-Present)
Fortune.com
Los Angeles Times (1923-1991)
Los Angeles times (1985-1996)
Los Angeles Times (1996-Present)
Money (1973-Present)
Newsweek Global (1984-Present) Newsweek Merged with Newsweek Global in 2012
New York Times (1857-1922) Historical Newspaper
PR Newswire PR Newswire is a distributor of press releases headquartered in Chicago. The service was created in 1954 to allow companies to electronically send press releases to news organizations, using teleprinters at first.
Salt Lake Tribune (1990-Present)
Salt Lake Tribune (1904-1914) From Chronicling America
Salt Lake Tribune (1896-1899)
Time (1985-Present)
Washington Post (1988-Present)

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries,almanacs and other specialized reference resources.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
more...less...
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume, contains over 1,850 articles by more than 1,500 leading economists.
Oxford Handbooks - Business
Includes 21 business handbooks
more...less...
Includes the Oxford Handbook of Business History, Oxford Handbook of Critical Management Studies, Oxford Handbook of Entrepreneurship, The Oxford Handbook of Sociology and Organization Studies: Classical Foundations, The Oxford Handbook of Human Resource Management, The Oxford Handbook of Work and Organization, The Oxford Handbook of Information and Communication Technologies, The Oxford Handbook of Business and Government, The Oxford Handbook of Strategy: A Strategy Overview and Competitive Strategy, The Oxford Handbook of Pensions and Retirement Income, The Oxford Handbook of International Business (2 ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Organization Theory , among others.