Skip to main content

IHUM 202: Artist Research Paper: Home

Here to Help!

The Library is OPEN and employees are here to help with research questions and assignments. Please contact Humanities Librarian, Elizabeth Smart, by email, phone, or scheduling a Zoom appointment (click "Schedule an Appointment" below). 

Humanities & Media Librarian

Elizabeth Smart's picture
Elizabeth Smart
Contact:
5452 HBLL
801-422-4995

Chat Help Available

While our Humanities Help Desk is closed, please contact us via chat!

chat loading...

Find Scholarly Resources Online

The Harold B. Lee Library has many scholarly resources that are available online, like journal articles and e-books. 

  • Library databases are online, searchable collections of peer-reviewed journals.
     
  • ​Peer-reviewed journals feature scholarship that has been written and reviewed by experts in the field before publication.
     
  • ​Academic publishers make journals and books available online and in print.

The library's online resources are reviewed by peers and editors, and include bibliographies. These are some of the ways the library's online resources differ from information you might find in a general Internet search.

Before you get started, go to the library homepage -- lib.byu.edu -- and look for the Login icon in the upper right corner. Login to have the best access to library resources. 

Library Databases

For this assignment, use any of these databases:

  • Art & Architecture Source (this database covers art from Greek antiquity to the modern day)
     
  • ARTbibliographies Modern (this database focuses on art from the 20th century to the present)
     
  • JSTOR (this database includes articles about the arts and humanities from Greek antiquity to the modern day)
     

Example:

1. Search Art & Architecture Source for artist Elizabeth Catlett (or the artist you are researching).

  • Use quotation marks to search for a complete name or phrase.
     
  • In the left-side navigation, look for the "Limit To" filters. Check the "Scholarly Journals" box to see just the peer-reviewed articles.


 


2. Find the full text of an article by looking for: 

  • Get It! @ BYU 
     
  • PDF Full Text  

  • HTML Full Text  


3. Different databases -- Art & Architecture Source and ARTbibliographies Modern -- look different, but act the same. Just remember to:

  • Use specific keywords
     
  • Filter results for peer-reviewed sources

Library E-Book Collection

For this assignment, you can also search the library's e-book collection. 

Example:

1. Start on the library's homepage -- lib.byu.edu -- and use the main search box to search for "elizabeth catlett"

2. Filter the results by checking the box for "E-books" under the heading "Resource Type"

3. Sometimes electronic encyclopedia entries show up as e-books. Be sure to take a second look and choose the sources best suited to your assignment.