Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most instructors and publishers require students to use a specific writing style. The library provides access to publication manuals so students can learn the specifics of various writing styles.
The bibliography managers listed below can help you organize and keep track of sources.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Mendeley (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowMendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network. Make your own fully-searchable library in seconds, cite as you write, and read and annotate your PDFs on any device.
Advanced Quantative Data Analysis by There are a variety of statistical techniques used to analyse quantitative data that masters students, advanced undergraduates and researchers in the social sciences are expected to be able to understand and undertake. This book explains these techniques, when it is appropriate to use them, how to carry them out and how to write up the results. Most books which describe these techniques do so at too advanced or technical a level to be readily understood by many students who need to use them. In contrast the following features characterise this book: - concise and accessible introduction to calculating and interpreting advanced statistical techniques - use of a small data set of simple numbers specifically designed to illustrate the nature and manual calculation of the most important statistics in each technique - succinct illustration of writing up the results of these analyses - minimum of mathematical, statistical and technical notation - annotated bibliography and glossary of key concepts Commonly used software is introduced, and instructions are presented for carrying out analyses and interpreting the output using the computer programs of SPSS Release 11 for Windows and a version of LISREL 8.51, which is freely available online. Designed as a textbook for postgraduate and advanced undergraduate courses across the socio-behavioural sciences, this book will also serve as a personal reference for researchers in disciplines such as sociology and psychology.
Publication Date: 2003-07-01
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students by Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students aims to present a clear discussion of the research methods employed in various disciplines related to our daily life problems. The theoretical basis of research methods is explained clearly and succinctly. Collecting data is a key part of the book and this includes both qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection, along with the advantages and disadvantages of each method. The book also describes in clear terms how students can analyse data, interpret results and link these to the literature review and hence their own contribution. It sets out a range of fundamental ideas in research methods, such as deductivism and inductivism, and explains why methodology is not the same as method. In this second edition every chapter has been re-written to be more readable and also to include more examples. The authors have also added a real student research proposal and a multiple-choice test with answers for the readers to test their own understanding of the ideas in the book. The book has been designed to illustrate research tools in a clear and accessible manner through chapters on such topics as formulating research, research design, data analysis and writing up the research results.
Publication Date: 2014-03-15
Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences by 'The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Infused with multidisciplinary examples, humor, and a healthy dose of irreverence, Fallon helps emerging researchers successfully navigate the intellectual and emotional challenges of writing quantitative research reports. After reinforcing foundations in methodology, statistics, and writing in the first section of the book, emerging researchers work through a series of questions to construct their research report. The final section contains sample papers generated by undergraduates illustrating three major forms of quantitative research – primary data collection, secondary data analysis, and content analysis. Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is appropriate for research methods classes in communication, criminology or criminal justice, economics, education, political science, psychological science, social work, and sociology. Individual students and novice researchers can also read the book as a supplement to any course or research experience that requires writing up quantitative data. “Fallon brings much-needed accessibility to the daunting world of quantitative methods. Filled with contemporary references to pop culture … key concepts are creatively introduced.” – Diana Cohen, Associate Professor of Political Science, Central Connecticut State University “This book covers the ‘how to'of writing research projects in a highly engaging manner. Graduate students who are preparing to work on their master's thesis will get a lot out of this book.” – Damon Mitchell, Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Central Connecticut State University“Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is not your typical book. It is a MUST HAVE handbook for students in the social and behavioral sciences …” – Carolyn Fallahi, Professor of Psychological Science, Central Connecticut State University“Kudos to Fallon for writing a very thorough and readable foundational text for beginning researchers!” – Linda Behrendt, Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, Indiana State University Marianne Fallon, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor of Psychological Science at Central Connecticut State University and has taught undergraduate Research Methods for over 10 years. A recipient of the Connecticut State University Trustees Teaching Award, she has mentored many emerging researchers, several of whom have won local and regional research awards and have published their research.'
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Garner's Modern American Usage by The first edition of Garner's Modern American Usage established Bryan Garner as "an American equivalent of Fowler" (Library Journal). With more than 23,500 copies sold, this witty, accessible, and engaging book has become the new classic reference work praised by professional copyeditors as well as the general public looking for clear advice on how to write more effectively. In 1999, Choice magazine named it an Outstanding Academic Book and the American Library Association dubbed it an Outstanding Reference Source. With thousands of succinct entries, longer essays on key issues and problematic areas, and up-to-the-minute judgments on everything from trendy words to the debate over personal pronouns, GMAU is approachable yet authoritative.
Since the book first appeared in 1998, Bryan Garner has diligently continued tracking how we use our language. The second edition includes hundreds of new entries ranging from Dubya to weaponize (coined in 1984 but used extensively since 9/11) to foot-and-mouth, plethora (a "highfalutin equivalent of too many"), Slang, Standard English, and Dialects. It also updates hundreds of existing entries. Meanwhile, Garner has written a major essay on the great grammar debate between descriptivists and prescriptivists. Painstakingly researched with copious citations from books and newspapers and newsmagazines, this new edition furthers Garner's mission to help everyone become a better writer, and to enjoy it in the process.
Call Number: Print & Electronic. PE 2827 .G37x 2003 Reserve Collection
Publication Date: 2003-10-30
Companion to Creative Writing by A Companion to Creative Writing comprehensively considers key aspects of the practice, profession and culture of creative writing in the contemporary world.
Publication Date: 2013-05-28
The following resources can help you look up information about publishers and journals (e.g., acceptance rates).
Cabell's Directories This link opens in a new windowCabell's Directories includes directories for the following areas: * Accounting * Economics and Finance * Management * Marketing * Curriculum and Methods * Educational Psychology and Administration * Psychology The goal of these directories is to help professors, graduate students and researchers to publish their manuscripts. To achieve this goal the Cabell's strives to maintain current information on the addresses, phone, fax, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals. Also, Cabell's seeks to provide information on publication guidelines, review information and circulation data.
For students interested in graduate school and publishing in the future, it can be helpful to look at past theses and disserations.
The following resources allow you to search by topic, but also search for sources from a specific journal or from a specific author. Several of these also allow you to see who cites an articles after it is published. These tools allow you to see where specific topics of research get published, who is publishing on specific topics, and how the scholarly conversation changes over time.
AuthorMapper (Springer) This link opens in a new window
A free collaboration tool where researchers can search to see who is doing what research at what university, and when.
The following resource can help you prepare data for publication.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. SRM Cases are stories of how real research projects were conducted. The collection provides more than 1100 case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. SRM Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. SRM Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.