Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Step-by-Step Guide & Research Rescue: Biological & Chemical Warfare

This guide will help you understand how to efficiently and effectively do basic research.

Step 1. Locate Biological & Chemical Warfare Background Information

This guide leads you through the research process for Biological & Chemical Warfare topics. For general tips on the research process, click on the Basic Research Strategy tab above.

Related Subject Guides - Chemical Engineering, Biology and Political Science


For Specialized print encyclopedias, use the Social Sciences/Education Reference collection, Level 1:

  • Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century Warfare (Soc Sci Ref U 42 .E5333 1989)
  • International Military and Defense Encyclopedia (Soc Sci Ref U 24 .I58 1993)
  • Weapons of Mass Destruction (Soc Sci Ref U 793 .W427 2005)

For Specialized online encyclopedias, use the following databases. For subject specific background resources, use the Chemical Engineering Subject Guide, Biology Subject Guide and the Political Science Subject Guide.

Steps 4 & 5: Evaluating Research Materials & Writing Your Paper

For tips on Evaluating Research Materials & Writing Your Paper, click on the Basic Research Strategy tab above.

Step 2. Develop & Narrow Your Topic

After reading Background Resources, you should be able to fill out the following "From Topic to Research Focus" formula.  NOTE: This is NOT the same as your Thesis Statement.  Your Thesis Statement is developed after you read Research Materials about your issue/question, determine your stance, and decide how you will present your attitude/angle/argument. For examples of how to use the "From Topic to Research Focus" rubric, click on the Develop and Narrow Topic tab at the top of this page.

1)  I am researching ______________________________________ (topic)
2)  because I want to find out _______________________________  (issue/question)
3)  in order to ____________________________________________ (application)

Organize your Research Focus into concepts: identify terms, think of synonyms, and organize them using this chart.

(Concept 1) _______________ OR ______________ OR ______________ (Synonyms for Concept 1)

AND (Concept 2) ___________ OR ______________ OR ______________ (Synonyms for Concept 2)

AND (Concept 3) ___________ OR ______________ OR ______________ (Synonyms for Concept 3)

Step 3. Find Research Materials for Biological & Chemical Warfare

For Books use the Books & More search to find specific titles from the bibliographies you noted above. Use the Books & More - Advanced Search to find additional books on your issue question. Referring back to the concept chart above, enter your keyword search, one concept for each box.

For Articles use the Articles & More - Advanced Search selecting Collection: Engineering & Technology and Social Sciences. Referring back to the concept chart above, enter your keyword search, one concept for each box. Click Go to begin the search. Click on the title of the article to read the abstract. Click the Full Text Available and Check for Full Text to view the entire article.

To retrieve additional articles, connect to the databases linked below, or select them from Databases A-Z in the Databases & Journals box on the Library Home Page. Depending on how you have narrowed your subject, other databases listed on the Chemical Engineering Subject Guide, the Biology Subject Guide and the Political Science Subject Guide may also be appropriate.