Subject Guides: Biology 100 Dr. Nelson: Finding Articles

Subject Guide

Contact:

(801) 422-6012

Subjects: Geology, Life Sciences

About Journal Article Databases

The best way to find journal articles is to search one of the many scholarly databases. Below are listed some of the more relevant databases in the biological sciences. To Identify primary articles, read the abstract and look for evidence of an experiement or new observation.

Recommended Article Databases

Web of Science Tutorial
Web of Science compiles articles from over 9,300 scholarly journals in all science disciplines. Users can easily find article references and other publications citing a particular work.
Scopus Tutorial
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Agricultural & Environmental Science (ProQuest) Tutorial
A collection of several bibliographic databases for environmental sciences. Includes Conference Papers Index, TOXLINE, EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements, Ecology Abstracts, and Water Resources. Updated monthly.
Zoological Record Tutorial
Zoological Record (1864+) indexes worldwide coverage of zoological literature, with particular emphasis on systematics, taxonomic and related information.

Have a Question? Get Help Here

Science & Engineering Help Desk

Hours:

Mon - Thurs: 8 am - 9 pm

Fri: 8 am - 6 pm

Sat: 10 am - 6 pm

Website

(801) 422-2987

science_reference@byu.edu

To see if a journal is peer reviewed...

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Search for the journal name in Ulrichsweb. Look for the black-and-white referee shirt icon which tells you that the journal is peer reviewed. Includes information about all types of periodical publications.

Library Workshop Handout

Library Handout