Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Thesauri & Foreign Language Dictionaries
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO) features fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Offering over 4 million words, phrases and translations in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. OLDO also features native speaker audio pronunciation - allowing you to hear how words actually sound. More than just a dictionary, OLDO offers a complete suite of language learning support materials for users of all levels: click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts, explanations of grammatical terms, hundreds sample letters, CVs and resumes, notes on life and culture, guidance on grammar and idiomatic usage, extensive links to other sites for further research, and more.
Dictionaries of the World: YourDictionary.com A great preliminary jumping-off point that links to over 500 online dictionaries available in over 140 different languages. Includes multilingual as well as specialized English dictionaries, along with other linguistic tools and features for help with grammar, synonyms, translation, and more.
Google Translate Google's free online language translation service instantly translates text and web pages. This translator supports over 50 languages.
Roget's Internet Thesaurus Online version of the classic thesaurus of English words and phrases, also serves as a dictionary and as a quotations index.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online Alternate title: OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary). The OED Online contains the complete searchable text of over half a million words from the 20 volume 2nd Edition. The dictionary traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations, offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciations. 1000 new and revised entries added quarterly. NOTE: The reference to the hard copy of the Oxford English Dictionary is HUM REF PE 1625 .O87
Cambridge Dictionaries Online Choose one of four dictionaries (Cambridge International Dictionary of English, Cambridge Dictionary of American English, Cambridge International Dictionary of Idioms, or Cambridge International Dictionary of Phrasal Verbs); then enter a word to read a definition.
Dictionary (Merriam-Webster Online) This online version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Eleventh Edition (2003), searches both words and phrases, verifies spelling, pronunciation, definitions, and the earliest use of English language words.
Live Library Help
(Click for map)