Search the BYU Library Catalog for BYU theses & dissertations. For other theses and dissertations, search the following database:
A good way to do research on Classical mythology is through subject searching in the catalog. To do this,
| Art and mythology | Heroes | Other mythologies, e.g., |
| Goddesses | Mythology | Mythology, Chinese |
| Goddesses, Greek | Mythology in literature | Mythology, Egyptian |
| Goddesses, Roman | Mythology-Comparative studies | Mythology, Semitic |
| Gods | Mythology, Classical | Mythology, Sumerian |
| Gods, Greek | Mythology, Greek | Names of mythological figures, e.g., |
| Gods, Roman | Mythology, Greek, in art | Argonauts (Greek mythology) |
| Names of individual gods and goddesses, e.g., | Mythology, Greek, in literature | Camilla (Roman mythology) |
| Apollo (Greek deity) | Mythology, Roman | Echo (Greek mythology) |
| Hera (Greek deity) | Mythology, Roman, in art | Odysseus (Greek mythology) |
| Saturn (Roman deity) | Mythology, Roman, in literature | Symbolism |
| Zeus (Greek deity) |
Most subject headings can be subdivided by "-Mythology," "In literature," "In art," "-Art." For example:
Apollo (Greek deity)-Art ["-Art" is used after names]
Goddesses in art ["in art" is used after topics]
Dogs-Mythology
Hercules (Roman mythology) in literature
Another way to approach the Library's collection is by browsing the shelves. Books including information on classical mythology can be found throughout the library, but the main areas are:
You can "virtually" browse the shelves using the catalog:
HathiTrust Digital Library is a collection approaching 17 million volumes of searchable books, journals, and government documents, including around 7 million available as full-text online.
BYU has joined more than 100 international academic and research libraries as a partner in HathiTrust. For more details about the kinds of content in HathiTrust and to visualize by call numbers, languages, or dates, see Statistics and Visualizations.
What can I do in HathiTrust?
Anyone can search and view the full-text content in HathiTrust. With login, users at BYU benefit from added features. Below is a brief summary of what you can do.
You can log in from the HathiTrust main page.
| without login | with BYU login | |
| Search full-text of all volumes |  |
|
| View full-text of non-copyright volumes | |
|
| Download single page of non-copyright volumes (PDF image) | |
|
| Download full volume of non-copyright volumes (PDF image) | X | |
| Search within collections | |
|
| Create and save your own collections | X | |
