Skip to Main Content
Guides, Indexes, Gazetteers, and Web Sites
BYU Map Collections on Internet Archive
A collection of maps and atlases, selected by university personnel and library patrons, covering multiple centuries, and originating from Special Collections, and the Map Collection. Maps have been georeferenced, and include a World File for use in a GIS.
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Alternate title: World Factbook. Provides a country-by-country listing of basic statistical and factual information. A few miscellaneous areas such as Antarctica and the West Bank are also included. Entries average two pages in length. Updated annually.
German Maps (Topographische Karte 1:25,000)
Topographic 1:25,000 scale maps of pre-WWII Germany. If you are looking for a specific location, and don't know which named sheet to display, refer to the Gazetteer to AMS 1:25,000 maps of East and West Germany, listed within this guide. Clicking on one of the 4 volumes will take you to its title page on Internet Archive. Within these title pages, are links to the other 3 volumes, as well as back to BYU's Germany Map page. Maneuver thru any of the 4 gazetteers, and identify the sheet number for the place you are interested in. Note that there are abbreviated location types such as streams, mountains, populated places, for many similar place name. Once you have a sheet number, return to this site, by clicking back to the gazetteer's title page, and then the BYU's Germany Map page link. Enter the sheet number in the search box. Once the map is displayed, you have several viewing and downloading options.
The National Geologic Map Database
A database containing USGS and AASG generated maps from the individual states. Searchable by title, author, or map interface.
Old Maps Online
The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution.
Places in the News
From the Library of Congress, Places in the News displays mostly CIA maps with a brief synopsis of current events worldwide.
Sanborn Maps (Utah)
Reconstructing the Past through Utah Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps: Home - An innovative portal for all available Utah Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps hosted at the J. Willard Marriott Library, complete with individual map links, georeferenced map files (KMZ/zip) and interactive Google Earth viewers.
USGS Historical Topographic Maps
For more than 125 years, the U.S. Geological Survey topographic maps have accurately portrayed the complex geography of the Nation. Because historical maps are stored in a limited number of collections and are not readily available, these historical printed topographic quadrangles are now available in an electronic format (GeoPDF). This scanning and processing effort serves to make the maps available for viewing and download.
Utah Geological Survey - Maps Online
Includes: Geologic Map Portal, New Maps & Publications, Geologic Maps, Geologic Hazard Maps, Groundwater Maps, Topographic Maps, GIS Data, Geologic Resource Maps, and Geophysical Maps.
