Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are different types of periodicals, including journals, magazines and trade publications. For many assignments your instructor will specify the types of sources you should consult in your research. Use the definitions and descriptions listed below to identify the proper sources. Go to this link to view a video about publication types: https://youtu.be/wqx-QPpsDJo
- Primary Sources Contains raw, original, uninterpreted, and unevaluated information. Examples: diaries, interviews, letters, original documents, patents, photographs, proceeding of meetings or conferences, market surveys, opinion polls, and works of literature.
- Secondary Sources Digest, analyze, evaluate, and interpret the information contained within primary sources. They tend to be argumentative. Examples: biographies, commentaries, dissertations, indexes, abstracts, bibliographies, journal articles, and monographs. This is the type of information that you find in library databases
- Tertiary Sources Compile, analyze, and digest secondary sources. They tend to be factual. Examples: almanacs, encyclopedias, and fact books.
(Find out if your journal is peer-reviewed)
Ulrichsweb Ulrichsweb is the online version of Ulrich's Periodical Directory. It contains a quarter-million records (journals, newsletters, newspapers, etc.) that are published world-wide. Each record provides publishing information, price, state date, where it is indexed, email links, etc. Updated daily.
Popular Secondary Sources