Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Web Sites
African Journals Online This link opens in a new windowA list of websites for periodical titles from Africa that are available online. The periodicals are listed by subject and indicate the country of origin. The list is updated regularly.
AfriGeneas : African Ancestored Genealogy This link opens in a new windowA website that focuses on African Heritage Genealogy. This website provides guides to researching African-American ancestry and links to African-American genealogy resources.
Black Women Writers (ASP) This link opens in a new windowWith 100,000 pages of prose, poetry, and essays, Black Women Writers brings together the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora in electronic format for the first time. Facing sexism and racism at the same time, these authors have had to create their own identities and movements. This collection documents that effort from its earliest beginnings. Presenting works from many different countries in three continents, and a variety of cultural experiences, the database gives a view of black womens struggles through time; the challenges of a group facing issues that are, together, unique to this literature.
Empire Online This link opens in a new windowWorld empires from 1492-1969. It includes a wealth of primary sources including manuscripts, rare printed materials, letter books, missionary papers, slave papers, travel writing, periodicals, diaries, photographs and more. Supplementing the primary sources are secondary resources such as essays, interactive maps, chronology and an image gallery. Materials in the collections spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires, gathered from a wide range of reputable institutions. with a core from the British Library. From Adam Matthew.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new windowThis resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Adam Matthew.
African Writer’s Series
African Writer’s Series includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta,
Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, and more.
Corpus of Francophone Literature from Black Africa
Corpus of francophone literature from black Africa contains 11,000 texts of Francophone Literature from Africa.
Europe and Africa (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest in Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy.
Chat with Social Science/Education Help Desk.
A digital image database of nearly 700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods.
Bridgeman Education Images
Provides access to over 380,000 images of the visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilizations.