Subject Guides: European Studies: Books

Ways to Search For Books

BYU ScholarSearch
Versatile search for books, journals, articles, databases and other electronic materials and information. Search Box is at the Top for a Simple or Advanced Search!
Other Libraries - Try WorldCat
Search catalogs of other libraries. You can search specific libraries (academic or public) or national consortia of libraries such as Worldcat.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Digital Library is a collection approaching 17 million volumes of searchable books, journals, and government documents, including around 7 million available as full-text online.

BYU has joined more than 100 international academic and research libraries as a partner in HathiTrust. For more details about the kinds of content in HathiTrust and to visualize by call numbers, languages, or dates, see Statistics and Visualizations.

What can I do in HathiTrust?

Anyone can search and view the full-text content in HathiTrust. With login, users at BYU benefit from added features. Below is a brief summary of what you can do.
You can log in from the HathiTrust main page.

	without login	with BYU login
Search full-text of all volumes
View full-text of non-copyright volumes
Download single page of non-copyright volumes (PDF image)
Download full volume of non-copyright volumes (PDF image)	X
Search within collections
Create and save your own collections	X

Chart courtesy of Syracuse University Libraries

Theses & Dissertations

Also search the BYU HBLL catalog.

Theses and Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window PQDT Global connects scholarship from 4,100 universities in over 60 countries, diverse voices, ideas, and perspectives can be viewed within a singular global context. : Each full text dissertation and thesis in PQDT is fully searchable providing an unparalleled resource for text and data mining analysis making connections that generate new insights.
CRL's Foreign Dissertations Database (Advanced Search) This link opens in a new window Through this growing database, the Center for Research Libraries provides access to over 800,000 foreign doctoral dissertations from more than 90 countries and over 1200 institutions. Search by author, title, institution name, the year the dissertation was defended, language, subject/keywords, and/or translated title.
Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU This link opens in a new window Electronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies

Google Books

Book Reviews

Here are some sources for book reviews. Be sure to search in some of the subject specialized periodical indexes as well.

Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI) is a database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

Bookwire