Ways to Search For Books
-
BYU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowOnly available on-campus. Library catalog keyword search.
-
Interlibrary LoanOnce you identify books from other libraries, you can order them online, through Interlibrary Loan Services. Fill out an online request for the materials, and be sure to allow enough time for arrival (about a week).
-
Other Libraries - Try WorldCatSearch catalogs of other libraries. You can search specific libraries (academic or public) or national consortia of libraries such as Worldcat.
-
ScholarSearchVersatile search for books, journals, articles, databases and other electronic materials and information. Search Box is at the Top for a Simple or Advanced Search!
-
SOPHIE: A Digital Library of Works by German-Speaking WomenThe Sophie Project, designed to make the works of formerly marginalized women writers accessible on the Internet, is a cooperative project of the BYU German Department, other institutions, and the Harold B. Lee Library
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a collection approaching 17 million volumes of searchable books, journals, and government documents, including around 7 million available as full-text online.
BYU has joined more than 100 international academic and research libraries as a partner in HathiTrust. For more details about the kinds of content in HathiTrust and to visualize by call numbers, languages, or dates, see Statistics and Visualizations.
What can I do in HathiTrust?
Anyone can search and view the full-text content in HathiTrust. With login, users at BYU benefit from added features. Below is a brief summary of what you can do.
You can log in from the HathiTrust main page.
| without login | with BYU login | |
| Search full-text of all volumes |  |
|
| View full-text of non-copyright volumes | |
|
| Download single page of non-copyright volumes (PDF image) | |
|
| Download full volume of non-copyright volumes (PDF image) | X | |
| Search within collections | |
|
| Create and save your own collections | X | |
Chart courtesy of Syracuse University Libraries
ZVDD
See the Zentrales Verzeichnis Digitalisierter Drucke for digitized German-language collections.
Theses & Dissertations
Also search the BYU HBLL catalog.
-
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
-
CRL's Foreign Dissertations Database (Advanced Search) This link opens in a new window Through this growing database, the Center for Research Libraries provides access to over 800,000 foreign doctoral dissertations from more than 90 countries and over 1200 institutions. Search by author, title, institution name, the year the dissertation was defended, language, subject/keywords, and/or translated title.
-
Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU This link opens in a new window Electronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies