Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly Web Sites
American Institute of Biological Sciences
The American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) is a nonprofit scientific association dedicated to advancing biological research and education for the welfare of society.
American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB)
ASPB is a professional society devoted to the advancement of the plant sciences. It publishes two world-class journals and organizes conferences, and other activities that are key to the advancement of the science.
Birds of North America Online
The Birds of North America is a comprehensive reference collaboration by the American Ornithologists' Union, the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, and the Academy of Natural Science. This reference covers the life histories of 716 North American bird species and including illustrations, audio clips, and videos.
Ecological Society of America
The Ecological Society of America (ESA) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization of scientists founded in 1915 to promote ecological science through public awareness, increased resources for research, and enhanced communication between the ecological community and policy-makers.
Economic Research Service (USDA)
The official website of the Economic Research Service (ERS) of the USDA. This website provides information on this government agency including research reports and other helpful information in the area of agriculture.
International Plant Names Index (IPNI)
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) has for more than four decades been assessing the conservation status of species, subspecies, varieties, and even selected subpopulations on a global scale in order to highlight taxa threatened with extinction.
National Academy of Sciences
The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.
National Science Digital Library
NSDL is the National Science Foundation's online library of resources and collections for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and research.
National Science Foundation (NSF)
NSF is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science." NSF is the only federal agency whose mission includes support for all fields of fundamental science and engineering, except for medical sciences.
Tree of Life Web Project (ToL)
ToL is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world to provide information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history. ToL pages are linked one to another hierarchically, in the form of the evolutionary tree of life, illustrating the genetic connections between all living things.
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) provides information on research reports, publications, and other helpful information in the area of agriculture.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
The mission of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is to work with others to conserve, protect and enhance fish, wildlife and plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people.
Utah Division of Wildlife Resources
The Utah Division of Wildlife Resources (DWR) manages and protects Utah's wildlife, including hunting and fishing opportunities within the state.
The Wildlife Society
The Wildlife Society (TWS), founded in 1937, is a professional international non-profit scientific and educational association dedicated to excellence in wildlife stewardship through science and education.
Have a Question? Get Help Here
The Lewis and Clark Herbarium
The Lewis and Clark Herbarium: Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia (PH-LC) digital imagery study set/ Earle E. Spamer and Richard M. McCourt
JSTOR Global Plants
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.