The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
CountryReports.org was established in 1997 out of a love for international relations and culture. Entirely web-based, we offer more than 26,000 pages of content covering a wide-range of topics. Our statistical data and cultural information has proven to be valuable to students, parents, teachers, and researchers alike. In a sea of competing websites, CountryReports.org stands out as a leader, according to accolades received from prominent media and national organizations. CountryReports.org has unique, culturally-rich content that is updated regularly.
This page is operated by the GODORT International Documents Task Force and the University of Northwestern Library. The Government and Geographic Information and Data Services Department does not collect the documents of foreign governments; this page is a way to access that information. It provides links to the official websites of national governments. Information on nations not on this list can be found on the Unrepresented Nations and Peoples Organisation List of Members.
The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names. The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN. Approximately 20,000 of the database's features are updated monthly. Geographic Area of Coverage: Worldwide excluding the United States and Antarctica.
A massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. It also provides a form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
The OAS uses a four-pronged approach designed to effectively implement these essential purposes. Each of the Organization’s four main pillars; democracy, human rights, security, and development, supports one another and these are intertwined transversally through a structure which includes political dialogue, inclusiveness, cooperation, legal and follow up instruments, that provides the OAS with the tools to effectively carry out and maximize the work it carries out in the hemisphere.
Population Index is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000.
Portals to the World contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad categories. The links were selected by Area Specialists and other Library staff using Library of Congress selection criteria.
Statistics Canada, a member of the Industry Portfolio, produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country—its population, resources, economy, society and culture. In addition to conducting a Census every five years, there are about 350 active surveys on virtually all aspects of Canadian life.
Collection of treaties registered or filled, recorded and published by member nations of the U.N. by the Secretariat since 1946, information on the status of multilateral treaties, texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties and photographs of signature ceremonies.