The world’s largest fully searchable cinematic image database.
Newspaper/Periodical Image Databases
National Geographic Magazine (Gale)This link opens in a new windowFrom its founding in 1888, the National Geographic Society has grown into an organization synonymous with exploration, photography, maps, and rethinking the world as we know it. This database features every page and every photograph, all fully searchable for the National Geographic Magazine from 1888 - present and National Geographic Traveler magazine from 2010 to the present. Also included is People, Animals, and the World which features full-text books on travel, science and technology, history, environment, animals, photography, and peoples and cultures.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)This link opens in a new windowAlternate title: 19th Century Collections Online (Gale). NCCO includes British Politics and Society; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; and British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture.
Vogue Archive (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.
HARPWEEKThis link opens in a new windowHarper’s Weekly newspaper covered the Civil War Era, 1857-1871. Prolific Latter-day Saint and Civil War subject content. Fully indexed, web access. Original displayed in image format.
American Periodical Series Online 1741-1900 (ProQuest - Full text)This link opens in a new windowA Historical American Periodicals database. This database includes digitized images of popular magazines and other rare periodicals from early American history up through the 1940s. Images are scanned from original pages and appear in their original layout with pictures and graphics. Coverage is from 1741 to 1941 and includes over 1000 different titles.
19th Century U.S. Newspaper Digital Archive (Gale)This link opens in a new windowApproximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century United States. This database has full-text searching capability, and it displays images from numerous newspapers from urban and rural areas.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale)This link opens in a new windowResearchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper, 1785-1985, is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Artwork Image Example
Johannes Vermeer, Girl with a Pearl Earring, c.1665, oil on canvas, 44.5 x 39 cm. Located at Mauritshuis, found on Artstor on JSTOR.
ARIES is an interactive image manipulation system that allows for the exploration and organization of fine art images (of paintings, drawings, prints, sculpture, etc.) taken from multiple sources (e.g. websites, digital photographs, scans) in a virtual space.
Art UK is the online home for every public art collection in the United Kingdom. The website brings together art from over 3,400 British institutions and shows over 300,000 works by over 50,000 artists.
The Book of Mormon Art Catalog is an open access digital database of visual artwork inspired by the Book of Mormon, from the earliest 19th-century images to the present.
This digital collection includes illustrations for magazines, novels, and children's books; cartoons; cover designs; and sketches for posters. More than two hundred artists are represented.
DMVI contains records and images of 868 literary illustrations that were published in or around 1862, providing bibliographical and iconographical details, as well as the ability for users to view images at exceptionally high quality.
The Europeana website provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with access to Europe's digital cultural heritage.
The Photoarchive is a study collection of more than one million photographic reproductions of works of art by fourth to mid-twentieth century artists trained in the Western tradition.
The New York Public Library’s Picture Collection provides 1.5 million circulating images clipped from books and magazines across 12,000 subject headings, from clothing and dress to military battles to insects.
Public Work is a search engine for public domain content. Explore 100,000+ copyright-free images from The MET, New York Public Library, and other sources.
Links:
VADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education.
